LibGuides: Career Research for Business Students: Find Employers

Online Library Resources for Researching Companies

PrivCo
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also provides information on private investors, private M&A deals, and venture capital funding rounds. Note: Users will have to create an account and log-in to Privco if they wish to go into an actual company, investor or deal profile, or download or export information. Click on "Venture capital fundings" to see which companies are receiving funding in specific locations or industries, meaning that those companies are growing and most likely HIRING.
Hoover's
Useful when you need to do research on private companies, though publicly traded companies are also included. In-depth coverage of 40,000 companies globally. Includes an overview, history, products, competitors, financials, links to SEC filings and added features such as CEOs on Camera.

Trade Journals/Newspapers

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Other resources in Factiva include newswires, news web sites, blogs and podcasts, and many trade and popular magazines. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live webinars.

These publications contain articles which often feature information about individual companies.

Use the following databases to search for such publications (use the option to limit to trade publications)

Proquest Business
Simultaneously search all business & industry periodicals available through Proquest Central, including the ABI/Inform databases, concentrated publications on the pharmaceutical, banking, computing and telecommunications industries and Canadian, Asian and European business news.
more...less...
Specific databases included in the Proquest suite of business databases at York University are: ABI Inform Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, Asian & European Business Collection, and Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database.
Business Source Complete
Offers premium content including peer-reviewed and business-related journals, magazines and newspapers, including scholarly, trade, and popular titles. Other content includes business e-books, case studies, company profiles, country economic reports, faculty seminar videos, industry reports, executive and analyst interviews, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and working paper collections.

Researching Companies Overseas

Go Global

Bloomberg PEOP Function

PEOP is a powerful function in Bloomberg which allows you to see who's worked where and when, and their education backgrounds. It's a good way to look up Schulich alumni.

Best Employers Web Sites

Company Web Sites

Examples of useful information on a company web site include:

About Us section
Careers section
Investor Relations section (public companies)

It is always a good idea to cross reference check multiple resources when researching a company you are interested in working for.

Don't forget about LinkedIn. Some jobs get posted there and nowhere else