Open Educational Resources: Find Open Textbooks

Funded by the Government of Ontario, this collection includes over 180 textbooks with Creative Commons licences that map to the top enrolled subjects in province. Some textbooks are revised Canadian editions, while many include faculty reviews or links to substantial ancillary resources like test banks and teaching slides. Subject coverage includes business, sciences, social sciences, humanities, and fine arts

BCcampus is the Canadian leader in Open Educational Resources in Canada. While their Open Textbook library has similar content as the eCampus Ontario library, their website also includes other valuable information about OER. For example, they maintain the Adoption Finder Spreadsheet, which lists open textbooks that have been adopted by specific courses at B.C.'s publicly-funded colleges and universities. They are funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education.

The University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library provides access to over 220 open textbooks that have been peer-reviewed by faculty and are in use at higher education institutions. Their collection uses Creative Commons licenses. Subject coverage includes: business, computer science, engineering, media studies, sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

This U.S. nonprofit is based at Rice University. Their open textbook collection offers high quality peer-reviewed textbooks with Creative Commons licenses. Their collection is focused on providing OER for the highest enrolled college courses in the U.S. Subject coverage includes: Math, Sciences, Social Sciences & Humanities.

This open textbook repository was developed by the State University of New York libraries (SUNY). SUNY faculty author and peer-review the textbooks in this collection. While the collection has only 20 open textbooks, the project will continue to add more content as the pilot program grows. The textbooks use Creative Commons licenses.

LibreTexts is a multi-institutional collaboration to develop open textbooks and other open course materials for subjects in the sciences, social sciences, business, and the humanities. Most of the content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-ShareAlike 3.0 U.S. license

This large repository acts as an aggregator for major OER content providers. It searches over 50,000 high quality OER. Use this search to find complete courses, lesson modules, open textbooks, teaching plans, and much more. The content level ranges from K-12, to higher education.

MERLOT is maintained by the California State University and 23 higher education institutional partners. It provides a wide variety of OER course materials such as animations, assignments, case studies, slides, syllabi, quizzes, complete courses, and textbooks. Many of the resources are peer reviewed and include user ratings.

The Directory of Open Access Books provides access to over 16,000 scholarly, peer-reviewed books and chapters from 316 publishers. It covers a wide variety of subject areas in various languages. All of the books are available under open licenses; however, not all books are licensed in such a way that they can be revised.

CORE is a non-profit organization that is supported by the Open University in the United Kingdom. Their search acts as a global aggregator of open access journals and repositories.