Specialized encyclopedias are useful for acquiring background information on a topic and can be valuable places to start your research. Find more in the library catalogue.
Breve história da Literatura Portuguesa: Autores, vida e obra
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language SciencesCambridge History of Latin American Literature
Dicionário de literatura portuguesaDicionário de literatura : portuguesa, brasileira, galega, africana, estilística literária
Dictionary of Brazilian Literature
An important contribution to a little-known area of literary study. The contributors provide a comprehensive overview of Brazilian literature; all are scholars of Brazilian literature. Choice The Dictionary of Brazilian Literature is an important addition to the field of Brazilian studies, an despite certain limitations, it should become a standard reference work in the United States as well as in Brazil. Literature and history scholars, students of Brazilian letters, and casual readers will find the book highly informative, up to date, well organized, carefully written, and reasonably complete. World Literature Today This is the first general dictionary of Brazilian literature for the English-speaking reader. The entries, which portray the literature within the sociocultural context of Brazilian life, describe more than 300 major figures and literary and cultural movements of Brazilian civilization. The time span extends from the epoch of discovery to the present day, and focuses on the twentieth century, particularly the most contemporary figures. The length of each entry reflects the significance of the subject; in order to cover as many writers and themes as possible, less well known or very recent authors are discussed in general thematic entries. Each entry provides concise, factual information. The more extensive pieces also offer a critical perspective for placing the writer in context, and provide conflicting critical opinions. The entries are of two types: author entries and thematic or movement entries. The thematic entries include the standard literary movements and also sociocultural movements of significance. The volume cross-references names both in the body of the text and in the index. Each entry includes a bibliography composed of additional selected works, translations, and criticism. This volume, which is designed for an English-speaking audience, stresses translations of works and critical references to English-language sources. It will be an important addition to college and university libraries, and a useful reference tool for courses in comparative literature.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by 
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Routledge History of Latin American Culture
The Routledge History of Latin American Culture delves into the cultural history of Latin America from the end of the colonial period to the twentieth century, focusing on the formation of national, racial, and ethnic identity, the culture of resistance, the effects of Eurocentrism, and the process of cultural hybridity to show how the people of Latin America have participated in the making of their own history. The selections from an interdisciplinary group of scholars range widely across the geographic spectrum of the Latin American world and forms of cultural production. Exploring the means and meanings of cultural production, the essays illustrate the myriad ways in which cultural output illuminates political and social themes in Latin American history. From religion to food, from political resistance to artistic representation, this handbook showcases the work of scholars from the forefront of Latin American cultural history, creating an essential reference volume for any scholar of modern Latin America.
