Portuguese & Luso-Brazilian Studies: Cultural websites & projects

E-text collections and images, organized by theme.

Large collections of artworks & images, organized by theme, by this venerable organization.

Research into Medieval Portuguese. Aims to create and make available a computerized corpus, linguistic studies, and a dictionary.

The largest collection of historical material documenting the experience of Portuguese immigrants and their descendants in the United States. Includes genealogical records, newspapers, books, recordings, family photographs, scrapbooks, business records and correspondence that document social history.

A large collection of e-texts and images on various cultural themes and personages.

“O Portal das Memórias de África e do Oriente é um projecto da Fundação Portugal-África desenvolvido e mantido pela Universidade de Aveiro e pelo Centro de Estudos sobre África e do Desenvolvimento desde 1997. É um instrumento fundamental e pioneiro na tentativa de potenciar a memória histórica dos laços que unem Portugal e a Lusofonia, sendo deste modo uma ponte com o nosso passado comum na construção de um identidade colectiva aos povos de todos esses países.”

A community outreach organization founded to
preserve the collective memory of Portuguese immigrants and their descendants in Canada, and democratize access to historical knowledge, both in its consumption and production.

“Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, Researching Brazil/Pesquisa no Brasil is both a bibliographic index and a gateway to online resources relevant to the field. The site provides a searchable index of Brazilian scholarly journals and contains additional relevant resources, including a news page, an online directory of institutions, a bibliography of print sources, and links to selected websites relevant to researchers.”

The World Digital Library includes cultural treasures and significant historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints, photographs, sound recordings, and films. A project of the US Library of Congress with support from UNESCO.