LibGuides: Portuguese &amp; Luso-Brazilian Studies: Articles databases

Databases for finding journal articles

REDALYC
Multidisciplinary. Searches articles from 1500 e-journals from many Portuguese- and Spanish-speaking countries worldwide. Free online.
MLA International Bibliography
Largest research database for the study of literature. Indexes journal articles and other publications pertaining to world literatures, languages, linguistics and folklore from 1926 to the present. International coverage.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Articles on linguistics. Indexes 2,000 journals, book reviews, conference papers, book chapters and dissertations. Contains citations in both theoretical and applied linguistics. Major subjects include language development, second language acquisition, psycholinguistics, phonology, morphology, nonverbal communication, hearing and speech. Coverage is from 1973 to the present.
Google Scholar
A subset of Google, Google Scholar allows users to search for articles from all disciplines, with a focus on scholarly and scientific information.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. PAIS LibGuide
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is one of the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. See Ebsco tutorials. Database related information.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humansticas is a comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Creating permalinks to articles in Sociological Abstracts
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A full-text database containing newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, Ethnic NewsWatch titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Topics covered range from the Renaissance to Tiananmen square. Coverage is from 1954 - present.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Covers over 1000 journals published from 1975 to the present, including many smaller journals and publications unavailable in other reference sources. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of on-going journal content, including coverage of all original creative works, such as poetry and fiction.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Published by Rèpertoire International de Littèrature Musicale, New York. Contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.
Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.

Find more article databases to find references, abstracts, and/or full-text articles from scholarly journals, etc.

Search Tips

Boolean operators: Most internet and electronic databases follow the rules of Boolean logic. Boolean logic determines how search terms interconnect. The most common Boolean operators are:

OR - combines synonyms (e.g. "self-actualization" OR "self-identity"). Broadens the search to retrieve more results.

AND - links different concepts together in a single search (e.g. "novel" AND "France" AND "20th century"), narrowing the search and limiting results.

Advanced search: allows you to limit your search by document type (e.g. books, articles, video, etc.), date, geographic location, language, and more.

Need help?

ASK US