First Nations, Métis & Inuit in Canada: Government sources

Indigenous Services Canada is one of two departments in the Government of Canada with responsibility for policies relating to Indigenous peoples in Canada (the other is Crown–Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada). ISC provides services to and in partnership with FNIM communities, including healthcare, education, infrastructure, environmental resources management, and emergency planning.

Crown–Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada is the department of the Government of Canada responsible for Canada's northern lands and territories, and one of two departments with responsibility for policies relating to Indigenous peoples in Canada (the other being the Department of Indigenous Services). The department's responsibilities are largely determined by numerous statutes, negotiated agreements and relevant legal decisions. Most of the department's programs are delivered through partnerships with Aboriginal communities and federal-provincial or federal-territorial agreements.

This article from the Canadian Encyclopedia gives an overview of current and historical federal departments that addressed Indigenous and northern affairs.

Indexes Canadian federal, provincial and municipal government publications (1982-present). Coverage include scientific, technical, and statistical reports as well as policy papers and annual reports. Most publications, excluding theses, are available on microfiche in the Microtext Department on the entry level of the Scott Library (arranged by year and Microlog Number) or in print. Search the Library Catalogue to determine print availability.

This search engine will allow you to query mentions of policy issues relevant to First Nations in Canadian parliamentary documents.

Provides access to documents, such as intervenor project submissions, publications, research reports and hearing transcripts that supported the writing of the report of the RCAP.

The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP), was established on August 26, 1991, and it submitted its final report in October 1996. The mandate of the RCAP was to investigate and propose solutions to the challenges affecting the relationship between Aboriginal peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis), the Canadian government and Canadian society as a whole.

Aboriginal documentary heritage found in the holdings of Library and Archives Canada (LAC) reflects the exemplary contributions of Aboriginal peoples to this country’s political, social, economic and cultural development. This material is available in all types of media and can be accessed on site or through online databases, virtual exhibitions and digitized documents.

This guide is intended to help researchers locate material on British Columbia First Nations held at the BC Archives as well as to provide references to related resources available elsewhere. It is not meant to be a general research guide on the subject, which is both broad in scope and complex in terms of the records available. Some introductory works and general guides are listed below as well as some useful internet resources (taken from website).

The First Nation Profiles is a collection of information that describes individual First Nation communities across Canada. The profiles include general information on a First Nation along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics and various Census statistics (taken from website).