LibGuides: Gender & Women's Studies/ Études des femmes et du genre (GL/GWST): Popular Sources

Newspaper Databases

Search OMNI

Locate a specific newspaper (e.g., The Globe and Mail) by searching in the OMNI discovery system. A title may be available across multiple online platforms (e.g., Factiva, ProQuest, etc.). Read the coverage descriptions to select the relevant link for online access.

Online offerings continue to grow. Yet, you may still need to consult print or microfiche versions of some titles.

To find newspaper articles on a specific topic, consult the newspaper databases A-Z list or the suggestions below. Read the coverage descriptions to determine if a database is suitable.

Canadian Major Dailies
This database includes the top Canadian daily newspapers in English.
★ Major sources: Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Toronto Star, etc.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to often overlooked perspectives.
★ Subjects:‎ history, culture, arts, current events, etc.
Eureka.cc
This database features Canadian and international news sources in English and French.
★ Major sources: Toronto Star, Le Journal de Montréal, La Presse, Le Devoir, etc.
Factiva
This database provides access to over 1,000 newspapers. It includes both international and local news sources. Coverage varies from publication to publication.
★ Major sources: Globe & Mail, Toronto Star, New York Times, etc.
Nexis Uni
Includes newswires, news blogs and newspapers from international and national sources.
★ Major sources: US Supreme Court rulings, executive biographies, US and international company profiles, etc.
PressReader
This digital newsstand includes thousands of the world's most popular newspapers and magazines (including images).
★ Major sources: Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, Ottawa Citizen, etc.