LibGuides: Gender & Women's Studies/ Études des femmes et du genre (GL/GWST): Videos

Streaming Video Collections

Audio Ciné Films
A selection of classic and contemporary feature films and documentaries. Includes major motion pictures, often with multilingual versions (e.g. French and Spanish). Features content from top studios, such as Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar.
Criterion on Demand
A selection of classic and contemporary feature films and documentaries. Includes major motion pictures, often with multilingual versions (e.g., French, Spanish, etc.). New titles added regularly.
Curio.ca
The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's (CBC) online platform of radio and television content. Offers a mixture of new and previously broadcast documentaries, weekly shows, news reports, and archival materials. Also provides educational resources for classroom use.
Film Platform
This online streaming video collection connects audiences to award-winning international documentaries. Curated by film experts and leading academics, videos are selected based on their social, political, and cultural importance. New titles added regularly.
Kanopy
A multidisciplinary collection from educational film distributors. Includes titles from California Newsreel, DEFA (East German feature films), First Run Features, Janus/Criterion Classics, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, Michael Blackwood, PBS, and more.
National Film Board of Canada (NFB)
Online access to more than 6,000 NFB productions. Includes classic documentaries, award-winning animations, social issue films, and artistic works. Also provides educational resources for classroom use.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
These online video courses are taught by industry experts from areas like software development, creative arts, and business. Complete courses or learning paths to earn certificates for your resume.
● Subjects: big data, statistics, data analysis, privacy, data modelling, D&I (Diversity and Inclusion), etc.

Film Collections

More and more content is available through streaming services. Yet, some titles only exist in hard copy (e.g., DVDs, CDs, and even VHS).

To find individual video titles, use the advanced search in OMNI .

It allows you to limit by resource type (e.g., films, videos, etc.), year of publication, and language.

Order Materials Between Campuses

Visit the Sound and Moving Image Collection (SMIC) on the first floor of the Scott Library (Keele Campus).

The SMIC collection contains more than 40,000 film and television DVDs.

You can borrow titles for personal viewing or for classroom use with your YU-card. Click the request link in the item record to ship materials between campuses.