The dance resources listed here represent a sampling of what is available through York University Libraries. Most book and print journals on dance can be found in the Scott Library on the 4th Floor under the call numbers GV1580 to GV1800.
Hosted by ABT, this interactive resource includes 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet which are then demonstrated by ABT company dancers.
"Juxtaposes visual demonstrations of the performer's craft, from a wealth of Eastern and Western sources . . . a handbook for theatre practitioners and a guide for students and scholars of transcultural performance."
Location: Scott
"An accessible . . . collection of theoretical arguments and illustrative examples that delineate the role of the arts in qualitative social science research."
Location Scott Reference.
Coverage back to the Renaissance. Includes 750 entries under names of dancers, choreographers, librettists, teachers, ballets, and companies, accompanied by bibliographies.
Location Scott Reference
400 entries provides biographical and critical analysis as well as bibliographies. Includes chronology of significant dance events, dating back to 1839.
Location: Scott
"As the official reference manual of the Dance Masters of America, this tap dance resource contains more than 1,500 up-to-date entries about every facet of this uniquely American art form."
"Includes more than 800 variations in international Russian, French and Cecchetti styles. Many of the movements are shown in slow motion with multiple camera angles and voice over narration description."
Covers 150 years with carefully researched entries on dancers and choreographers; dance companies; significant Canadian dances with original program notes and commentaries; and a listing of music composed for dance.
Encyclopedias
are useful for acquiring basic background information on a topic and are valuable places to start your research.
Features extensive entries arranged by country and supported by topical entries describing dance types and performances. Strong for non-western traditions. Comprehensive index.
Information on theatre and performance dating back to ancient Greece up to contemporary times, as it appears in plays, dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions.
