The dance resources listed here represent a sampling of what is available through York University Libraries. Most book and print journals on dance can be found in the Scott Library on the 4th Floor under the call numbers GV1580 to GV1800.
Dance Heritage has moved its national touring exhibition of Irreplaceable Dance Treasures online so that everyone can can learn about these significant local and international contributions to the field. The subject indexes reflect the diversity of the art form.
These are useful places to start your internet research and includes digital collections, subject specific search engines, and other academic research guides.
Hosted by Ohio State University, this collection features photos, cabinet cards and tobacco cards. It is "a window to the theatrical entertainment of burlesque of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries as well as to exploration of feminine beauty, socially acceptable behavior, cross-dressing and gender issues, and exoticism."
Administered by the dance community, and dedicated to all types of performance dance, but especially good for ballet and modern. Includes a moderated forum that encourages open discussion about issues affecting the dance community.
Founded in 1986 by Lawrence and Miriam Adams, DCD is both an archive and publisher. Its collection includes photographs, news clippings, theatrical programs, stage props, moving images, journals and online exhibitions documenting Canadian dance.
Contains findings aids for more than 50 dance collections housed in major repositories. Access is by broad subject heading or repository name or by browsing the collection list.
Undertaken by the English Folk Dance and Song Society, this resource is the world's largest free digital archive of English folk songs, tunes, dances and customs, drawn from early 20th century English folk arts manuscripts.
Initiated by British-based filmmaker Don Boyd, this a curated site of professional quality streaming video that encompasses all the arts. Includes behind-the-rehearsals, interviews, and performances. The content is "refreshed" monthly.
Official database for Broadway theatre information, dating back to the beginnings of New York theatre. Access is by title of production, performers, names of theatres, character names, and song titles.
Video excerpts of performances dating back to the 1930's, taken from the archive of this famous dance festival. Access is by artist, genre and era, and the results can be shared
A collection of more than 200 social dance manuals from the Library of Congress collection, dating from 1490 to 1920, supplemented by video performance clips, arranged historically.
Premier dance research collection. Extensive cross references pull together all available documentation on a topic, person, or company whatever the source: books, program guides, moving images, sound recordings, photographs, clippings, or journal articles.
Provides access to photographs, posters, playbills, stage designs and costume designs associated with operas, theatre and dance performance. Of special note is the Boris Volkoff collection which documents his contribution to Canadian ballet.
