Islamic Studies: Web Resources

This source presents reference content and commentary in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.

Prepared by the academic staff at the University of Georgia, this website covers a range of topics, including the following: the Qur'an, hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism, Sufism, Islam in the modern world, militancy in Islam, jihad, Islamic movements, terrorism, Islam in Iraq, and women in Islam. It also contains links to relevant issues and moments such as President Barack Obama's "A New Beginning" speech delivered in Cairo (2009), as well as a the 500 of the most influential Muslims of 2009.

Arranged by topic, this website provides extensive lists of links to relevant websites on numerous topics related the Middle East. Subjects include political violence, women, economics, and Islam. This website also provides links to major news sources for the Middle East, as well as links to bibliographies and associations for scholars.

Online date converters that converts dates between many different calendars, including the Georgian, Julian, Hebrew, Islamic, and Persian.

A comprehensive resource with articles, encyclopedia entries, and dictionary definitions for topics in Islamic studies.

An annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology.

A project examining both edited and unedited Arabic legal documents from a comparative perspective.

A free, non-profit website providing access to the largest and greatest online collection of Qur’anic Commentary (tafsir or tafseer), translation, recitation and essential resources in the world.

Manuscripts of the Muslim World will include digital editions of more than 500 manuscripts and 827 paintings from the Islamicate world broadly construed. Together these holdings represent in great breadth the flourishing intellectual and cultural heritage of Muslim lands from 1000 to 1900, covering mathematics, astrology, history, law, literature, as well as the Qur'an and Hadith. The bulk of the collection consists of manuscripts in Arabic and Persian, along with examples of Coptic, Samaritan, Syriac, Turkish, and Berber.

Qalamos is a portal for manuscripts from Asian and African writing traditions, including Arabic. It comprises approximately 135,000 manuscript datasets from Asian and African script traditions containing descriptions of 120,000 physical objects written in more than 160 languages and 80 scripts.

This portal is an access point to information about Arabic, Persian and Turkic manuscripts and old printed books in Russian collections. Includes digitized copies of the eleven copies of the Qur'an of the 17th-19th centuries as well as commentaries, prayer books, theological works, and poetry. Project participants include the Russian Academy of Sciences' Archive and Institute of Oriental Studies, MGIMO University, and others.

This site holds basic information and resources relating to the study of Islamic manuscripts. Includes information on both the physical composition and content of such manuscripts, as well as a bibliography.

Archnet, developed by the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT, is an open-access resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues, with a particular focus on Muslim societies. Archnet presents visual and material culture within historic, cultural, and geographic contexts, and contains over 120,000 images, publications, video, and pedagogical tools (One-time free registration may be required).

It includes images of Ottoman clothing as well as illustrations of clothing, with various degrees of description attached to each image.

Links to sites for finding credited visual resources for Islamic art, architecture, and society.