LibGuides: Islamic Studies: Books and e-Books

Some Useful Books

The Literature of Islam: A Guide to the Primary Sources in English Translation by Paula Youngman Skreslet, Rebecca Skreslet
Call Number: Z 7835 M6 S585 2006 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 2006
Guide to primary sources for the study of Islam. This resource requires some basic familiarity with the faith and is intended as a resource for those seeking a fuller understanding of Islamic literary heritage. Each entry provides comments about the original work and its place in the pantheon of literature as well as an assessment of each published edition and translation of that work. This resource is divided into the following eight chapters: The Qur'an, The Traditions: Hadith, Exegesis of the Qur'an: Tafsir, Law and Legal Theory: Shari'a and Fiqh, History and Historiography: Ta'rikh, Philosophy: Falsafa, Theology: Kalam, and Spirituality and Mysticism: Tasawwuf.
The Koran Interpreted: A Translation by Arthur J. Arberry
Call Number: BP 109 A7 1955 V.1-2 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 1955
This volume is the first English translation of "The Qu'ran" by an Islamic Studies scholar. The translation preserves the rhetorical and rhythmical patterns of the original. Additionally, this title acknowledges the orthodox Muslim view that "The Qu'ran" cannot be translated, but only interpreted.
A Concordance of the Quran by Hanna E. Kassis ; foreword by Fazlur Rahman
Call Number: BP 133 K37 1983 Scott Reference
Publication Date: 1983
This resource is aimed at readers wanting to study "The Qu'ran" who are not Arabic speakers/readers. It links English words and their corresponding transliterated Arabic terms to passages, chapters, and verses. This resource uses the text of A.J. Arberry's "The Koran Interpreted." It is arranged alphabetically by transliterated form of the Arabic root term, with indexes of English words, and is also available online as part of the Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
The New Islamic Dynasties: A Chronological & Genealogical Manual by Clifford Edmund Bosworth
Call Number: DS 35.627 B67 1996 Scott Reference
Publication Date: 1996
This resource provides chronological and genealogical information on 186 Islamic dynasties, divided into 17 regions, including Spain, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Iraq, and Jazira before the Seljuqs. As well, it includes coverage of the Arabian Peninsula, the Mongols and Their Central Asian and Eastern European Successors, and South East Asian and Indonesia. For each entry, the author situates the dynasty in the broader context of Islamic history, outlines some of the major period trends, and explores dynastic achievements. Dates are given in both the Muslim Hijri and the Christian eras.
A Chronology of Islamic History, 570-1000 CE by H.U. Rahman
Call Number: DS 38.3 R35 1988 Scott Reference
Publication Date: 1989
Comprehensive coverage of major events, social, intellectual, and political developments in the world influenced by Islam between 570-1000 CE. This period encompasses the birth of the Prophet Mohammad to the expedition of Mahmud of Ghazna into India in the beginning of the 11th century.
Islamic History: A Framework for Inquiry by R. Stephen Humphreys
Call Number: Z 3014 H55 H85 1991 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 1991
Encompasses several topics and subtopics within Islamic Studies. Covers political and social history from the period between CE 600 and 1500. Discusses the Middle East, North Africa, and Spain. This resource is divided into two parts: Part I gives a comprehensive survey of the reference tools and sources available to historians of Islam, and Part II provides ten chapters, each focused on a broadly-defined research problem, i.e., urban topography and society.
The Islamic & Christian Calendars: AD 622-2222 (AH 1-1650): A Complete Guide for Converting Christian & Islamic Dates & Dates of Festivals by G.S.P. Freeman-Grenville
Call Number: CE 59 F7 1995 Scott Reference
Publication Date: 1995
Covers dates of major significance occuring in both Islamic and Christian calendar systems from the first day of the Hijra up to the Christian year AD 2222. It is also possible to calculate the date of any future festival in either calendar.
Muslims in the United States: The State of Research by Karen Isaksen Leonard
Call Number: E 184 M88 L46 2003 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 2003
Covers literature reflecting the lives of Muslim Americans. Draws from religious studies, history, anthropology, sociology, and the humanities. This resource provides a comprehensive analysis of the socio-political and intellectual challenges faced by Muslims in the United States, and provides thorough coverage of Muslims of Arab, South Asian, African, Turkish, Southeast Asian, and European origins. The end of this volume also identifies areas for potential future research.
The Columbia Sourcebook of Muslims in the United States by Edward E. Curtis IV
Call Number: E 184 M88 C65 2008 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 2008
This collection draws together articles written by American Muslims, starting from the mid-19th century and continuing into the 21st century. The first three chapters focus on the history of Muslims in the United States, while the last three explore contemporary issues including women, gender and sexuality; American Muslim politics and civic engagement after 9/11; and American Muslim spirituality and religious life. Each section contains an introductory essay by the editor, and each article is prefaced by explanatory and contextual notes about the authors.
Islamic Architecture: Form, Function, & Meaning by Robert Hillenbrand
Call Number: NA 380 H52 1994 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 1994
Surveys Islamic public architecture in the Middle East and North Africa from the Medieval era to 1700. Typological approach shows chapters on mosques, minarets, madrasas, mausoleums, caravanserai, and palaces. Numerous photographs and illustrations of ground plans, including three-dimensional drawings, accompany the text.
Early Islamic Art, 650-1100 by Oleg Grabar
Call Number: N 6260 G688 2005 Scott Stacks
Publication Date: 2005
The first volume in the series Constructing the Study of Islamic Art, this resource consists of articles about art and architecture in the early Islamic period. It is divided into four parts: origins and context, the secular culture under the Umayyads, Fatimid Egypt and the Muslim West, and the Muslim East. Some illustrations and photographs accompany the text.

Omni Searching Books/E-Books

Omni, available via the library home page, is the new search tool shared by 18 Ontario university libraries. With a single search you can find a variety of resources held at York University Libraries and the other Omni partner libraries.

To find books or e-books follow these steps:

Step 1: Apply the Relevant Search Scope

Omni can be used to search for books or e-books in three different domains, equivalent to search scopes:

York Libraries
York Libraries + Omni Libraries (default search mode)
Course reserves

In general we advise that you choose the first option. If you cannot find what you need this way, choosing the second option will find more books and e-books, which may be available using inter-library loan options linked from system records.

Step 2: Conduct your search

Results are automatically sorted by relevance including:

Frequency of matching search words
A value score (query words in author, title, subject, plus date)
Proximity of search words to one another

If you sort by the newest date, you lose the relevance ranking.

Step 3: Avail of the Search Filters and limit to Books & E-Books under Resource Type

These search filters appear once results load along the left-side of the screen

Use our Omni Guide to learn more about effective search strategies in Omni. Key terms to know are Search Scope, Facet, Boolean, Truncation, Wildcards, and Limits.

Search Tips for the Catalogue

General Search Tips

Author
If you are looking for a particular author and only using the first initial, place a wildcard * after the initial. You can search in natural name order or with surname first. ex. W* Shakespeare.
Title
Please note that there is no EXACT title searching. You must put an exact title in quotation marks after selecting a TITLE KEYWORD search from the dropdown menu.
Subject Heading Field
When you know the Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH), select the subject field search from the dropdown menu.
Search Operators
Search operators can be entered in lower or uppercase i.e. they are case insensitive. Use AND/and to narrow a search and OR/or to broaden a search. ex. (China OR India) AND economy
NOTE: the default operator is AND/and. This means that if there is no Boolean operator between two terms, the AND/and operator is used automatically (like Google).
Phrase Searching
Use quotation marks to search for phrases of more than two words. ex. "Corporate social responsibility".
Truncation
You no longer need to use the dollar symbol ($) or the asterisk (*) when searching for multiple endings of a word. The system automatically finds words similar to the one you have searched, searching plurals and singulars.
Spelling Hints
The system is searching the closest match based on what can be found in the catalogue, not a dictionary.
Course Reserves
Select Course Reserves in the drop-down menu and enter either the course code or the instructor's last name.
Example: biol1010, pols 6410, zorn

Islamic Studies: Books and e-Books

On this page

Some Useful Books

Omni Searching Books/E-Books

Search Tips for the Catalogue

General Search Tips