LibGuides: Islamic Studies: Newspaper articles

Newspaper Articles - Canada

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date information on virtually any topic. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant backfiles from more than 20 of Canada’s top national and regional newspapers in full-text format, including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star. Many titles are exclusively available from ProQuest. With same day access to many publications, Canadian Major Dailies provides users with thorough and timely coverage of national and regional events. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform. More information about Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest).
For more information about News Sources see this YUL LibGuide
Creating permalinks to articles in Canadian Major Dailies (ProQuest).

CBCA Reference & Current Events
An index to over 50 Canadian newspapers, magazines, newswires and broadcaster transcripts. Also includes some American and British publications that cover current events (e.g. The Economist, U.S. News & World Report).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
An electronic newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail, from1844. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths. Results are displayed as images (photographs) of an entire newspaper page.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. More about this database
Creating permalinks to articles in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star

Factiva
This index provides access to over 1,000 newspapers including the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. It indexes more than 6,500 magazines, including industry-specific journals and newsletters, 270+ newswires, including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press, 160+ Media Programs, with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and more, 9,000 Web sites in more than 20 languages and more than 20,000 Company Reports.

Newspaper Articles - International

The following are international Newspaper sources.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Wall Street Journal. Eastern ed.
The Wall Street Journal (Jan 2 1984-) from Proquest provides indexing and full-text access.
Nexis Uni
Indexing and full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources from around the world. Tutorial
WorldNewspapers.com
Find information and links for newspapers around the world.

Islamic Studies: Newspaper articles

Newspaper Articles - Canada

Newspaper Articles - International

Online Tutorials