History, Canadian: Primary Sources Online

"The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library"

This is not a complete bibliography of the issue or the holdings of this institution but rather reflects some of the many places where such material may be found. Represented are newspaper and periodical articles, travel literature and journals to places where slavery was an ongoing practice, treatises, sermons, reports of anti-slavery institutions, published slavery narratives, other published documents and archival materials. As the anti-slavery movement was international, many of the sources listed here were not created by Canadians, but are evidence of the kinds of ideas with which Canadians of the period engaged. As these were documents created in the 1830s to 1870s, the language of their titles and content reflect their historical context.

This digitized collection contains images of 180 drawings that depict the Aboriginal peoples of North America as well as the fauna and flora of New France in the late 17th century. The original drawings, done on parchment with brown ink or brown ink and watercolour, are now held by the Gilcrease Museum in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

In Nicolas' manuscript, 53 plates are devoted to natural history. They illustrate 18 plants, 67 mammals, 56 birds, 33 fish and about 10 reptiles, batrachians and insects. In addition, a large number of sketches and drawings depict objects made by the Aboriginal peoples of North America. Of particular interest are the portraits of Aboriginal peoples belonging to some 15 nations. No other iconographic document of such antiquity illustrates so exactly the paintings and tattoos with which Aboriginal peoples of North America decorated their bodies during the late 17th century. (quoted from the Library and Archives webpage]

At the core of this site are the full texts of thirty-eight manuscripts that are known collectively as the Masson Papers and cover the period ca 1790-1820. The patrimonial importance of these diaries is of the first order and provide important insights into the history of the North West Company and the fur trade in general.

Libris is growing, and currently contains some 250,000 citations, with annotations (and for Maclean's Magazine, comprehensive abstracts).

Never before have scholars been able to search these documents easily and find answers to complex questions with just a few clicks. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. (publisher)

Drawn from more than 1,000 sources and representing 1,500 women from all walks of life, the writings are extensively indexed. Databases of women, sources, personal events, historical events, a geographical table, and other features make the writings useful to researchers in history, sociology, literature, genealogy, women¿s studies, and related fields.

Researchers should consult other sub-series within the Central Registry System series for additional records relating to schools and education for that time period.

These historical records, many of which are reserve land surrenders, are of particular interest and cultural importance to Canada's Aboriginal peoples. (quoted from the Library and Archives webpage]