Accounting & Taxation: Ratios/Beta

Investext provides access to analyst reports for publicly-traded companies. The reports are produced by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports include analyses on company and industry financial performance, SWOTs, M&A, trends, challenges, and much more. Investext includes current and historical analyst reports. Quick search tips: (1) Search for a publicly-traded company’s most recent analyst reports using the Company Search field > On report landing page, click Reports tab > click Broker Research reports link; (2) To conduct more advanced searches such as historical reports, initiating coverage reports, or reports from specific investment banks, click on the Investext tab (far right-hand side tab) to go to the advanced search form. You can also find historical ratios under the Company Financials section.

Find a public company by searching under Company tab. Once you have the company's information, click Financial Results, and select Key Ratios from the drop-down menu. Or, go to Reports and select Ratio Comparison Report.

The database is available on a stand alone workstation in the Bronfman Business Library.

The database is available on a stand alone workstation in the Bronfman Business Library.

In addition to news, this website provides a broad range of information about stocks, mutual funds, and public or private companies, including quotes and charts. Valuation ratios are available, which give you industry and sector comparisons for your company.

RV (Relative Valuation) compares a company with its peers. (Limit industry through Comp Source, and Region)
RVR (Relative Value Ranking) compares a company with its peer group (the peer group constituents can be customized by clicking Customize tab) and index.
EQS allows to select equities meet certain criteria and compare financial performances amongst the peers. It also allows generating average statistics.

A website of Aswath Damodaran, Professor of Finance at the Stern School of Business at New York University. Contains updated tables of data related to the courses he teaches on valuation, portfolio management and applied corporate finance. Includes historical industry ratio & beta, along with a wealth of other data.

The database contains industry benchmarks from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios including solvency, efficiency and profitability. Users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. They are broken down into median figures, with upper and lower quartiles. Coverage is mainly of U.S. companies, though coverage of Canadian companies is growing. Browsing using Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes is recommended. Steston University has developed a useful Libguide with step-by-step instructions on how to effectively access ratios in KBR.

A dual duty database. Contains not only articles but also company and industry information. Click Companies/Markets then Company and search for a company, in the left column select Reports, the Ratio Comparison Report provides five year ratio and beta values for the company and associated industry, sector and S&P 500.

First Research within the database includes Financial Information on the left column once in an industry report which gives industry ratio averages (data from MicroBilt Corporation based on private companies).

This publication presents balance sheet, income statement and changes in financial position and selected financial ratios data on a quarterly basis covering 31 financial and non-financial sectors and their totals at the all Canada level. The industry breakdowns are based on the North American Industry Classification System for companies and enterprises. Starting with the first quarter of 2020, the Quarterly Survey of Financial Statements (QSFS) underwent a planned content update to better align it with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), which were adopted by Canadian enterprises starting in 2011. This publication has been discontinued since March 2016. Data tables are available at Table: 33-10-0007-01 (formerly CANSIM 187-0001) and Table: 33-10-0008-01 (formerly CANSIM 187-0002).
Older issues (1996-2000) available in print at the Scott Library (CAN1 CS8.5 61-008)

This publication contains annual aggregate data of Canadian enterprises classified by 67 industry groups. The industry breakdowns are based on the North American Industry Classification System for companies and enterprises. The data include: asset, liability and equity items encompassed in a balance sheet, revenue and expense items as reported on an income statement, along with several common financial performance ratios. This publication has been discontinued since March 2016. Data tables are now available in Table 33-10-0006-01 (formerly CANSIM 180-0003)
Older issues (1995-1998) available in print at the Scott Library (CAN1 CS8.5 61-219)

Developed by Industry Canada, “is an interactive on-line financial performance tool to help new and established firms determine how your business measures up to the competition. It allows you to enter your company’s financial data confidentially and compare it to industry averages. Arranged by NAICS. This tool will assist you in making sound operational decisions.

In addition to news, this website provides a broad range of information about stocks, mutual funds, public and private companies, including quotes and charts. Also available are valuation ratios that give you industry and sector comparisons for your company. Search and display your company. Then scroll down and click on “more from Reuters” on the left side of screen, and then click on the Financials tab at the top of the screen.