Science and Technology Studies : Environment Government Sources

Indexes Canadian federal, provincial and municipal government publications Includes scientific, technical, and statistical reports as well as policy papers and annual reports. Most publications, excluding theses, are available on microfiche at Scott Library.

Can browse by subject or conduct searches for bills and parliamentary documents on topics such as biodiversity, etc.

(BSC) is a not-for-profit organization that helps to coordinate scientific research among specialists on the Canadian fauna. The BSC network of scientists discovers, synthesizes, and freely shares knowledge about Canada’s biological diversity.

The Canadian Encyclopedia website contains several comprehensive resources, which can be accessed together or separately through the search engine or browsed through their own Subject Indexes.

This section of the Canadian Encyclopedia includes information on the following areas of biology: Biodiversity, Environmental Management, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Microbiology and Virology. Other areas of biology can be searched by keyword.

Provides information on the Theory of Biodiversity, Canada's Ecozones, Patterns of Biodiversity, Species Distributions, Conservation Issues, and Canadian Legislation. Contains an extensive list of resources - both print and Websites that were consulted in the production of this project.

Collection of links to Federal, Provincial and Territorial government documents as well as organizations, think tanks, lobby groups and institutes, from Canada and abroad.

This collection of links includes links to documents such as the Stern Report and Kyoto Protocol, as well as select Government websites from Ontario, Canada, and abroad.

This guide produced by Queen's University includes links to organizations such as WWF, the David Suzuki Foundation and other interest groups and think tanks.

The Auditor General of Canada is an Officer of Parliament who audits federal government departments and agencies, most Crown corporations, and many other federal organizations, and reports publicly to the House of Commons on matters that the Auditor General believes should be brought to its attention.

Environment and Climate Change Canada's role is to protect the environment, conserve the country's natural heritage, and provide weather and meteorological information to Canadians. More information about the department's programs and services can be found on the website.

Environment Canada produces a wide variety of publications and reports in various electronic and print formats.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and its Special Operating Agency, the Canadian Coast Guard, deliver programs and services that support sustainable use and development of Canada’s waterways and aquatic resources. Access Acts, Orders, Reports, Publications and Statistical information from DFO Resources.

Many documents are available in full text.

According to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada, there are currently 539 plant and animal species at risk in Canada. Another 13 species are already extinct. The species are listed in five categories: Special Concern, Threatened, Endangered, Extirpated, and Extinct. The destruction of their habitat is a major factor, along with genetic and reproductive isolation, suppression of natural events, environmental contamination, over harvesting and excessive trade, climate change, disease and the presence of invasive species.

COSEWIC is a committee of experts that assesses and designates which wildlife species are in some danger of disappearing from Canada.

CBIF is a member of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF).

Taxon based biological information system. Integrated with CBIF

Integrated with CBIF

Integrated with CBIF

Integrated with CBIF

Includes policy information on sustainability

Browse Forest research by subject

Access fact sheets to Birds, Mammals, Amphibians & Reptiles, Fish, Insects, and more. Search by Species, Habitats, issues and topics, and action and awareness areas.

The Ministry of the Environment (MOE) is the lead ministry responsible for protecting, restoring and enhancing the environment to ensure public health and environmental quality. The ministry safeguards our environment by working toward cleaner air, water and land, and healthier ecosystems for the people of Ontario.

Search or browse through categories for Ministry Publications and Reports.

The Ministry of Natural Resources is the steward of Ontario's provincial parks, forests, fisheries, wildlife, mineral aggregates, and the Crown lands and waters that make up 87 per cent of the province. Our mission is to sustainably manage the province's natural resources to contribute to the environmental, social and economic well-being of the people of Ontario, and to ensure our resources remain abundant and available for the benefit of future generations.

More than 190 of Ontario's wild species are at risk. Species can become at risk due to a number of reasons. These include habitat loss, pollution, changing land use activities, as well as the spread of invasive species.

This website contains brief accounts of species including distribution maps, colour images and descriptions.

Includes: Migratory Bird Conservation, Species at Risk Protection, Habitat Conservation, Surveys and Monitoring

The City of Toronto's Climate, Energy & Resilience portal includes a summary of the City's environmental projects, programs and policies. Access information on areas of interest such as natural Spaces and Wildlife, Trees and Water.

Provides information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens  in the USA

Includes information about the names, taxonomic relationships, distribution, and morphology for flora in Canada and the USA

A gateway to information resources at eleven U.S. government science agencies, such as the Endangered Species Program, North American Breeding Bird Survey, etc.

International aggregation of Biodiversity Data

Covers information on International laws concerning the environment, as well as how to support them.

Provides links to Principal Environmental Bodies, documentation on the environment, Treaty-based Bodies and protocols, and more.

IUCN compiles worldwide information on the biology and conservation status of species.