LibGuides: Science and Technology Studies : Health Government Sources

Canadian Public Health Information Search Engine

This search engine enables federated searching for Canadian health information across governmental and agency websites.

OPHLA Canadian Public Health Information Search Engine
Created by the Ontario Public Health Libraries Association, this custom search engine enables searching in the websites of Canada's federal and provincial health departments, public health agencies, and collaborating centres. Note that a list of websites is provided.
Public Health Grey Literature Database
This database of grey literature has been compiled to increase the accessibility of grey literature from Ontario's 36 public health units and other provincial knowledge-producing public health organizations.

Canadian Government Sources

A source of reports, documents and webpages created by the Canadian government. This is a great resource for information about what the Canadian governemnt is doing in regards to the health of Canadians.

Health Canada
Health Canada is the federal department responsible for helping the people of Canada maintain and improve their health. This site provides a wealth of information on health care in Canada, as well as conditions and diseases, health protection and more.
Health Canada Search
Microlog: Canadian Research Index
Indexes Canadian federal, provincial and municipal government publications Includes scientific, technical, and statistical reports as well as policy papers and annual reports. Most publications, excluding theses, are available on microfiche at Scott Library. Includes Canadian nursing information.
Public Health Agency of Canada
Role is to Promote health; Prevent and control chronic diseases, injuries, and infectious diseases; Prepare for and respond to public health emergencies; Serve as a central point for sharing Canada’s expertise with the rest of the world; Apply international research and development to Canada’s public health programs; Strengthen intergovernmental collaboration on public health and facilitate national approaches to public health policy and planning
Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) is the Government of Canada's agency responsible for funding health research in Canada in: targeted priority areas; building research capacity in population health and health services research; training in health research; knowledge translation from research into policies, practices, procedures, products and services.

International and US Government Sources

A source of reports, publications and websites regarding health information in the international and US context.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Covers traveler's health, disease information and publications such as the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.
GlobalHealth
The Office of Global Health Affairs provides guidance and fills a coordinating function between federal departments and countries in U.S. policy and strategy positions and development related to international and refugee health issues.
World Health Organization
Publication catalog, media resources, health articles, and current health news. List of upcoming health events, conferences, and summits.

Related Subject Guides

This is an example box. Click Edit Box Settings to set the appropriate subject. Add a Linked Box in the same location on every page of your guide.

Social Sciences
by Maura Matesic Last Updated Feb 28, 2025 636 views this year

Science and Technology Studies : Health Government Sources

Canadian Public Health Information Search Engine

Canadian Government Sources

International and US Government Sources

Related Subject Guides

Online Tutorials