Arts & Media Administration: Finance

Statistics Canada releases on financial performances of a variety of industries, including service industries.

Ratios for Canadian industries from Statistics Canada.

Ratios for Canadian industries, from Statistics Canada

Contains composite financial data arranged by NAICS code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business. Available in print only, in the Bronfman Library (HF 5681 B2 R6)

Income statement and balance sheet data for a variety of industries in Canada. Good source for estimating costs for small to medium sized businesses.

Use to find: debt to equity ratio, shareholders' equity, liabilities, inventory turnover.

Investext provides access to analyst reports for publicly-traded companies. The reports are produced by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports include analyses on company and industry financial performance, SWOTs, M&A, trends, challenges, and much more. Investext includes current and historical analyst reports. Quick search tips: (1) Search for a publicly-traded company’s most recent analyst reports using the Company Search field > On report landing page, click Reports tab > click Broker Research reports link; (2) To conduct more advanced searches such as historical reports, initiating coverage reports, or reports from specific investment banks, click on the Investext tab (far right-hand side tab) to go to the advanced search form.

A Statistics Canada datafile containing key financial ratios by industry including the net profit margin, pretax profit margin, return on equity and liabilities to assets. Arranged by NAICS. Available on a stand-alone workstation in the Bronfman Business Library.

Here is the Mergent Online Investext Product Overview.This database works on all platforms and browsers. Once in Mergent Online, click the Investext tab to access the database. It contains full-text financial reports and forecasts prepared by the world’s leading investment banks and consulting and research firms. Provides access to financial analysis for over 11,000 companies. Useful for competitive analysis, researching industry trends, conducting market research and company studies. American, Canadian and International in scope. Here is the link to Mergent Investext Step-by-Step Research Guide .

In the upper left corner, click the drop down arrow behind the Menu > select the Company Dossier > Search for a company either by Company Name or Ticker Symbol > once in the company, in the left column under Investment Research > select Analyst Reports. (Zacks Equity Research reports are not accessible through this route. Once in the database insert Zacks Equity Research in the search box > select it > insert Company (Co name) to search and the Zacks Equity Research reports can be viewed or downloaded.)

Once in a Company > Under the Company reports tab > Equity reports includes a equity report from a Mergent analyst while Broker research reports includes the most current Investext analyst reports.

For Company Report, select Companies/Markets > Company > search for a company > in left column select Report and then Company Report
For Industry Report, select Companies/Markets > Industry > select the industry > left column click Analysis and Profiles

Provides short introductory reports on each industry and detailed reports on the key companies in each industry.

keeps more than 160 leading Canadian stocks under continuous review.
HG 4505 C353 Reference

Income statement and balance sheet data for a variety of industries in Canada. Good source for estimating costs for small to medium sized businesses.