Earth and Space Science: Handbooks, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

This dictionary contains terms covering the following 14 main fields: Architectural Engineering and Buildings, Civil Engineering, Engineering, Geology, Geotechnical Engineering, Hydraulics, Hydrogeology, Hydrology, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanics, Mining Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Science and Technics, Surveying. The dictionary has two sections: the first one, the Basic Table, lists the terms in English (as well as those which are specifically American) in alphabetical order followed by their equivalents in German, French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese/Brazilian. In the second section, the indexes, the German, French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese/Brazilian terms are listed in five separate alphabetical indexes. The dictionary is a basic tool for all contractors abroad. It will offer the adequate technical support for specialists evolving in an international environment.

The only dictionary of its kind, Dictionary of Engineering Materials contains more than 25,000 generic, trade-named, and trademarked engineering materials, all alphabetically arranged and complete with full explanations.

"The Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary provides researchers, working engineers, students, and those in related disciplines with the definitions of all the terms and acronyms used in today's electrical and electronics literature. This comprehensive resource saves time by presenting the desired information in the place it is first looked up - and in a straightforward manner that allows this content to be more readily assimilated." "Utilizing information drawn from textbooks, handbooks, treatises, instruction manuals, theses, articles, reports, and Usenet postings, the Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary is the most complete dictionary covering the entire field of electrical and electronics engineering."--BOOK JACKET.

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language ever produced. Includes definitions, quotations, and full etymologies. All are searchable.

The new, three-volume Tenth Edition contains articles contributed by industry experts and scholars worldwide. It comprises more than 10,000 entries and features hundreds of completely rewritten and re-referenced articles, as well as 2,500 completely new entries covering emerging technologies affecting genetics, global warming, communications, informatics, nanotechnology, and more. Internet references and print references have been updated and expanded to reflect the editors' conviction that modern students and researchers move from link to link as well as from page to page.

Covering all aspects of engineering for practitioners who design, write, or test computer programs, this updated edition explores all the issues and principles of software design and engineering. With terminology that adheres to the standard set by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the book features over 500 entries in 35 taxonomic areas, as well as biographies of over 100 personalities who have made an impact in the field.

A comprehensive and credible general knowledge encyclopedia. In addition to 72,000 articles on topics in every discipline, the Encyclopedia Britannica Online also provides links to 130,000 websites that have been selected and reviewed by Britannica's editorial board of experts.

The online version of a classic Canadian reference work. Useful for finding basic information on people, themes and events.

First published in 1995, The Engineering Handbook quickly became the definitive engineering reference. Although it remains a bestseller, the many advances realized in traditional engineering fields along with the emergence and rapid growth of fields such as biomedical engineering, computer engineering, and nanotechnology mean that the time has come to bring this standard-setting reference up to date. New in the Second Edition 19 completely new chapters addressing important topics in bioinstrumentation, control systems, nanotechnology, image and signal processing, electronics, environmental systems, structural systems 131 chapters fully revised and updated Expanded lists of engineering associations and societies The Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices. Whether you work in industry, government, or academia, this is simply the best, most useful engineering reference you can have in your personal, office, or institutional library.

With specialization now the norm in engineering, students preparing for the FE and PE exams and practitioners going outside their specialty need a general reference with material across a number of disciplines. Since 1936, Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals has been the bestselling reference covering the general principles of engineering; today, it's more relevant than ever. For this Fifth Edition, respected author Myer Kutz fully updates and reshapes the text, focusing on the basics, the important formulas, tables, and standards necessary for complete and accurate knowledge across engineering disciplines. With chapters on mathematical principles, physical units and standards as well as the fundamentals of mechanical, aerospace, electrical, chemical, and industrial engineering, this classic reference is more relevant than ever to both practicing engineers and students studying for the FE and PE exams.

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Third Edition, Four Volume Set provides a single source for all critical information needed by mechanical engineers in the diverse industries and job functions they find themselves. No single engineer can be a specialist in all areas that they are called on to work and the handbook provides a quick guide to specialized areas so that the engineer can know the basics and where to go for further reading.

In 1993, the first edition of The Electrical Engineering Handbook set a new standard for breadth and depth of coverage in an engineering reference work. Now, this classic has been substantially revised and updated to include the latest information on all the important topics in electrical engineering today. Every electrical engineer should have an opportunity to expand his expertise with this definitive guide. In a single volume, this handbook provides a complete reference to answer the questions encountered by practicing engineers in industry, government, or academia. This well-organized book is divided into 12 major sections that encompass the entire field of electrical engineering, including circuits, signal processing, electronics, electromagnetics, electrical effects and devices, and energy, and the emerging trends in the fields of communications, digital devices, computer engineering, systems, and biomedical engineering. A compendium of physical, chemical, material, and mathematical data completes this comprehensive resource. Every major topic is thoroughly covered and every important concept is defined, described, and illustrated. Conceptually challenging but carefully explained articles are equally valuable to the practicing engineer, researchers, and students. A distinguished advisory board and contributors including many of the leading authors, professors, and researchers in the field today assist noted author and professor Richard Dorf in offering complete coverage of this rapidly expanding field. No other single volume available today offers this combination of broad coverage and depth of exploration of the topics. The Electrical Engineering Handbook will be an invaluable resource for electrical engineers for years to come.

Offering encyclopaedic coverage of every aspect of mechanical engineering, this guide supplies fundamental information in areas such as mathematics, mechanics, thermodynamics, power generation and transmission, materials of construction, machine elements and materials handling.