LibGuides: Earth and Space Science: Journal Articles

Indexes & Databases

Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive international database for scientific, medical, and technical information. It contains approximately 18,000 journal titles from 5,000 publishers, and abstracts going back to 1960. More information.

Indexes and Databases bring together a number of different online journals and other resources into one search engine. Use these tools to find citations, abstracts and/or full text articles, reports and other resources on your topic. Both scholarly and popular articles may be included.

Scholars Portal Journals
Database of millions of full text articles across all scholarly disciplines. Very good for inter- and multi-disciplinary topics
GeoBase
Geobase is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, the earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of over 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications, and provides archival coverage of several thousand additional journal titles and books. Geobase contains over 1.8 million records from 1980 to present.
GeoRef
Indexes the geological literature of North America from 1785 to the present and the rest of the world from 1933. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations both U.S. and Canadian as well as journals, maps and reports are covered. Useful for undergraduate and graduate level earth science and geography students.
IEEE Xplore
Complete full text of all IEEE/IEE journals, conferences and standards since 1988. Important for all fields of computing and electrical engineering as well as aerospace, biomedical, physics and geoscience
more...less...
Computer Science, Engineering, Information Technology
Compendex (via Engineering Village)
Astronomy, Biophysics, Computer Science, Engineering, Information Technology, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics
Inspec (via Engineering Village)
The Inspec database is an invaluable information resource for all scientists and engineers, that contains 13 million abstracts and specialised indexing to the world's quality research literature in the fields of physics and engineering. (From Website)
Web of Science
Indexes 8,5000 research journals across the Social Sciences, Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal and author address as well as for articles that cite a known author or work (citation searching). Coverage is from 1945 - present. See our Guide to Using Web of Science
AIAA Electronic Library
AIAA is the premier provider of information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science. Our titles document the most important developments and the latest research in air and space history. Our publications make the exchange of technical knowledge and information possible among aerospace professionals. (From Website)
GeoRef (via Engineering Village)
Indexes the geological literature of North America from 1785 to the present and the rest of the world from 1933. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations both U.S. and Canadian as well as journals, maps and reports are covered. Useful for undergraduate and graduate level earth science and geography students.
SPIE Digital Library Journals
SPIE journals publish peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics. Available through the SPIE Digital Library, SPIE journals feature e-First rapid online publishing and extensive CrossRef linking features allowing researchers easy access to in-depth research. (From Website)
Gale Academic OneFile Select
Provides access to the full-text of more than 3,500 periodicals including more than 2,000 scholarly journals. Citations (or abstracts) are provided for an additional 1,500 titles. Coverage of a wide variety of topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences makes it an excellent database for the initial stages of research.
Formerly Expanded Academic ASAP.
General Science Abstracts
Indexes general science topics in the life sciences, physical and chemical sciences and medicine. Covers subjects such as biology, botany, conservation, earth science and environment. It covers a variety of document types including feature articles, interviews, book reviews, biographies, obituaries, product evaluations and practical do-it-yourself information. Appropriate for beginning undergraduate science and natural science students who need to search general science topics.
Google Scholar
A subset of regular Google, it allows users to search for articles from all disciplines. Content is heavily skewed towards scholarly and scientific information; however, humanities and social science content is present, as is non-scholarly material.
Business Source Complete
This databases contains about 8,000 full-text periodicals and other sources, including scholarly journals, trade and general business magazines, country economic and industry reports, industry yearbooks, and market research reports.
ACM Digital Library
Complete full text of all Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines and conference proceedings since 1954.
Academic OneFile
Provides access to full-text of more than 4500 scholarly and popular periodicals with indexing for thousands more. Coverage of a wide variety of topics in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences makes it an excellent database for the initial stages of research.

French-language Indexes & Databases

Erudit
This resource is intended to serve as an innovative means of promoting and disseminating the results of university research. The collection covers a wide range of disciplines in the human, social and natural sciences. This resource welcomes any academic journal regardless of its publisher and country of origin. It is also the site of dissemination of Quebec journals supported by the Fonds quebecois de recherche sur la societe et la culture (Quebec fund for research on society and culture).

Use these indexes and databases to find journal articles in French. Both scholaraly and popular articles may be included.

Pascal & Francis
La base de données FRANCIS est une base de données bibliographique contenant plus d'un million de notices, couvrant les sciences humaines et sociales à l'échelle internationale. Les sujets ou bases de données qui la compose comprennent notamment : l'archéologie, la géographie, la linguistique, la philosophie, la religion et la sociologie. Les citations comprennent des articles de périodiques, des comptes rendus de congrès, des ouvrages, des rapports et des thèses de doctorat.
Repère
380 000 références d'articles de périodiques de langue française (1980- )avec le texte intégral de 18 000 articles et les adresses de 6 000 articles en texte intégral sur Internet. Répertoire général, comprend la linguistique et la langue française.

Search Tips

When searching online, various words are used to help broaden or narrow your search. Here are a few tips you should know before searching any academic database:

Boolean operators: Most internet and electronic databases follow the rules of boolean logic. Boolean logic refers to the relationships (connections or differences) between different search terms. The most common boolean operators are:

AND - used to narrow a search and establish more relevant results by linking keywords together (e.g. "behavioural" and "psychology").

OR - broadens a search and get more results. Typically used for synonyms and words with variant spellings (e.g. "self-actualization" and "self-identity").

NOT - use to narrow a search and get more relevant results (e.g. "behaviouralism" not "humanism").

Truncation: used to find similar words with different endings

e.g. human* searches "human and humans"

e.g. educat* searches "education", "educate", "educational" etc

asterisk (*) searches for various different endings of a word in most databases (including York University), however LexisNexis uses an exlamation mark (!).

Other Tips

Advanced Search - this option is available on most databases, and allows you to specialize your search based on documents (books, articles, video etc), date, geographic location, language, etc.

Quotation Marks - using quotation marks will allow you to search for exact phrases. For example, searching "mental impairment" will only retreive searches with both "mental" and "impairment" together in that order.

Refine Search - many online databases allow you to specify your search criteria after selecting your keywords and clicking on search.

Finding a Specific Journal - if you know the name of the journal you are looking for, type it in the library catalogue, then select "Periodical Title", then hit "go".