LibGuides: Education K–12: Indigenous Perspectives: Truth & Reconciliation

Key books and websites

Indian Residential School Survivors' Storybase
The Indian Residential School Survivors' Storybase is a project that seeks to bring together the multitude of Stories from Residential School Survivors available online in one searchable format. These items are created by organizations external to the University of Toronto Libraries which supports the site, and this collection brings them together and places them in conversation.

The collection emphasizes audio and video recordings with the aim of connecting directly to the individual storytelling styles, personalities, emotions and experiences of Survivors. Recordings are primarily in English or Indigenous languages with English transcriptions or subtitles available.
Please see the collection appropriate for K-8 students
National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation (NCTR), Archives, Educational resources
Essential resources for teachers.
National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation (NCTR), Books for children
National Centre for Truth & Reconciliation (NCTR), Teaching resources
Teaching resources, organized by grade level. Includes programs for schools.

Truth and Reconciliation in Canadian Schools by Pamela Rose Toulouse
Call Number: E-book & print
Publication Date: 2018

Indian residential schools. Resources for K–12 educators

100 Years of Loss: The Residential School System in Canada, 2nd ed. by Legacy of Hope Foundation
Call Number: Edu-Kit
Publication Date: 2014
This educational kit is for educators in helping to raise awareness and teaching about the history and legacy of residential schools in Canada. Teacher's Guide.

Forgotten: The Métis Residential School Experience (2014)
This project documents and gives voice to the
experiences of the many Métis children who were forced to attend Indian Residential Schools. Guided by a small, expert Métis advisory group, the Legacy of Hope Foundation created this exhibit and associated resources to shed light on the history and legacy of the Métis residential school experience.
more...less...
Curated by Métis poet Gregory Scofield, and guided by advisory group members Christi Belcourt, Maria Campbell, Guy Freedman, and Brenda MacDougall, the exhibit explores Métis identity, Métis experience of residential school and cultural reclamation and healing.
Indian Residential Schools & Reconciliation. Teacher Resource Guides (Grades 5, 10 and 11/12)
Teacher Resource Guides for grades 5, 10 and 11/12 were developed by the First Nations Education Steering Committee and the First Nations Schools Association. They are our response to the call by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada for education bodies to develop age-appropriate educational materials about Indian residential schools.
more...less...
It is our hope that these resources will help students of all cultural backgrounds gain an understanding of the history of the relationship between Indigenous and non-Indigenous people over Canada’s history, with a focus on the BC experience. The materials are also designed to engage young people to take part in the journey of reconciliation.
Legacy of Hope Foundation
Virtual exhibitions, projects, educational resources (curriculum guides, activities).
more...less...
A national Indigenous charitable organization with the mandate to educate and create awareness and understanding about the Residential School System, including the intergenerational impacts such as the removal of generations of Indigenous children from their families, including the Sixties Scoop, the post-traumatic stress disorders that many First Nations, Inuit, and Metis continue to experience, all while trying to address racism, foster empathy and understanding and inspire action to improve the situation of Indigenous Peoples today.
Truth & Reconciliation Curriculum Guides
By Project of Heart (Ontario).
Includes guides to the Ontario curriculum for grades 6, 8, 10.
We Were So Far Away: The Inuit Experience of Residential Schools
In the spring of 2008, eight courageous Residential School Survivors, two from each of the Inuit geographic regions – Nunavik, Nunavut, Nunatsiavut, and the Inuvialuit Settlement Region – shared their stories with the Legacy of
Hope Foundation. The exhibition, “We were so far away...”: The Inuit Experience of Residential Schools, presents the
individual recollections of these Survivors in their own words, illustrated with their personal photographs and objects, and contextualized by historical images
gathered from archives across Canada.