EBSCOhost web gives access to several academic databases including Anthropology Plus, Applied Science & Technology, CINAHL, General Science Abstracts, Historical Abstracts, SportDiscus and many more. See Ebsco Tutorials.
Interdisciplinary database covering the politics, history, social issues, economics, development, literature and fine art of Africa. Provides unique access to articles and edited works, maps, country profiles, documents and pamphlets about Africa. More on Africa-Wide Information in EBSCO databases.
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is one of the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. See Ebsco tutorials. Database related information.
Partnering with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, EBSCO provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. More information.
Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
Applied Science & Technology Index provides indexing for hundreds of peer-reviewed journals covering a wide variety of interdisciplinary applied science fields, including civil engineering, aeronautics, computers and informatics. More information.
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Moreinformation.
Indexes articles and other document types including art reproductions from international publications. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, painting, photography and sculpture. Coverage is 1929-1984.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States. This collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics – shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form.
Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database combines the premier indexing from Atla Religion Database (Atla RDB) with AtlaSerials (Atlas), one of Atla's online full-text collections of major religion and theology journals.
Contains over 610,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database. AboutBibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers' advisory and collection development. More about Book Review Digest Plus in EBSCO databases.
Offers premium content including peer-reviewed and business-related journals, magazines and newspapers, including scholary, trade, and popular titles. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
CINAHL indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, audiovisuals and educational software, dissertations, conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Topics include all aspects of nursing, emergency services, health education,health administration, consumer health and alternative therapies. Coverage is from 1982 - present. See tutorial on searching in CINAHL. See help videos.
Communication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse. More information about this database
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation.
Current Biography contains the full text of more than 15,000 biographies and 9,400 obituaries that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940. Numerous undated biographies and articles that have not appeared in print editions are also available. Current Biography includes artists, politicians, business people, journalists, actors, writers, sports figures, scientists, and other people prominent in the news. In addition, the articles are supplemented with recent citations from Biography Index. The profiles and obituaries are searchable by name, profession, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, date of birth or death, and keyword - (Updated bimonthly).
Indexes literature in the field of education including such topics as athletics, physical education, classroom computers, comparative education, government funding, special education, teacher evaluation and multicultural/ethnic education. Coverage is from 1983 - present. More about this database
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Indexes the humanities and social sciences, covering such disciplines as economics, political science, history, literary criticism, drama, and film. This database includes citations to essays and articles drawn from 300 books per year as well as 20 annuals and serial publications published in the US, Canada, and the UK. Coverage is 1985 - present. More about this database
A core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.
More about this database
General Science Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating as far back as 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
This database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Covers world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present era. It indexes journals from around the world and also includes books and dissertations. Topics covered range from the Renaissance to Tiananmen square. Coverage is from 1954 - present.
HSTM integrates four bibliographies--the ISIS Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 includes a wide range of peer-reviewed content such as comprehensive indexing for nearly 1,200 periodicals, more than 1,300,000 citations and over 240,000 book reviews.
Covers over 1000 journals published from 1975 to the present, including many smaller journals and publications unavailable in other reference sources. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of on-going journal content, including coverage of all original creative works, such as poetry and fiction.
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. More about this database
Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. Creating Permalinks to articles in EBSCO databases.
This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. Other materials indexed include: Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, Annual surveys of the federal courts, Yearbooks, annual institutes, Annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic. Indexing from 38 printed cumulations. 540,000 records, including book reviews and case citations. Contents notes: for special issues and symposia, individual articles and authors are identified. More information: http://support.ebsco.com/help/?int=ehost&lang=en&feature_id=Databases&TOC_ID=Always&SI=0&BU=0&GU=1&PS=0&ver=live&dbs=lprjnh,lpr
Topic: Journals and Journal Indexes; Legal History
Jurisdiction: Australia / Canada - Federal / Multijurisdictional / United Kingdom / United States
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more.
The definitive research database for book chapters, scholarly articles, and conference presentations in classical studies. Citations are drawn from the print volumes of APH 1969-2008. Abstracts when available are usually in French.
Provides full-text coverage to the world's most respected scholarly law journals. Topics include criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor and human resource law, ethics, the environment and more. International coverage includes the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for scholarly books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics along with access with over 1000 full-text journals. The MLA tends not to be quite as current as the Annual BIbliography of English Language and Literature.
Covers the popular and classical music industries drawing on a variety of journals and magazines. Includes articles, book reviews, obituaries, and news. Information on film scoring can be found using the subject headings film composers or motion picture music.
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published from 1890 to 1982 in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
A comprehensive index to popular literature, covering all subjects and general news areas, such as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports, history, and science. Coverage 1890-1982.
Published by Rèpertoire International de Littèrature Musicale, New York. Contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere, with abstracting and indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. Social Sciences Abstracts covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
