Jewish Studies

Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.

Provides a multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, including over 250 A-Z original, signed articles that cover major themes, beliefs, traditions, and folkways of Jewish groups around the world. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.

The Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture is an updated revision of the Companion to Jewish Culture published in 1989. Experts from all over the world contribute entries ranging from 200 to 1000 words broadly, covering the humanities, arts, social sciences, sport and popular culture.

Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies offers expert guidance through its carefully selected articles that break down subject areas into their component parts and pithy annotations that summarize the main contribution of each citation.

This encyclopedia presents Jewish history and culture through essays on the varied accomplishments of Jewish women and their many contributions to the Jewish historical experience over the course of the past three millennia.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture is an authoritative and accessible reference work for a twenty-first-century audience. Essays explore Jewish history from ancient times to the present and consider all aspects of Judaism, including religious practices and rituals, legal teachings and legendary traditions and rationalism, mysticism and messianism.

This dictionary focuses on recent and changing rituals in the Jewish community, including the growing trend of baby-naming ceremonies and the founding of gay/lesbian synagogues. The new edition incorporates biographies of 20th-century individuals, and an index with alternate spellings of Hebrew terms. Covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice.

This newly revised and updated edition of spans over four thousand years of history in 154 maps, presenting a vivid picture of a fascinating people and the trials and tribulations which have haunted their story. The themes covered include: Prejudice and Violence; Migrations and Movements; Society, Trade and Culture; and Politics, Government and War.

A comprehensive visual introduction to the history of the Jewish people in the Middle Ages, including more than one hundred maps with accompanying text that give an in-depth review of Jewish history throughout the world from the 5th to the 17th centuries. It covers milestone events of Jewish history during this period: the dispersion of the Jews in the 4th and 5th centuries up to the Crusades, the Black Death, the expulsion from Spain, the persecutions of 1648 in eastern Europe, and the Sabbatean movement.

This atlas traces the development of Jewish history from ancient times to the present day. Containing over 100 maps and 30 photographs, this is a comprehensive atlas of Jewish history designed for students and the general reader. It is ideally suited for those courses in Jewish or Biblical Studies, serving as a handy reference guide as well as a textbook.