Jewish Studies

This unprecedented reference work systematically represents the history and culture of Eastern European Jews from their first settlement in the region to the present day. More than 1,800 alphabetical entries encompass a vast range of topics, including religion, folklore, politics, art, music, theater, language and literature, places, organizations, intellectual movements, and important figures.

Dictionary entry for Ashkenazim, Ashkenazi, and Ashkenaz.

This reference article provides an overview of the Jewish Middle Eastern and Africa communities, exploring the history of Jewish communities in the Middle East, North Africa, and the Horn of Africa. In "The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions". Online.

Sephardic Jewry and Mizrahi Jews offers a collection of new scholarship on the issues of self-definition and identity facing Sephardic Jewry. The essays draw on a variety of disciplines--demography, history, political science, sociology, religious and gender studies, anthropology, and literature.

This volume documents the variety and diversity of Jewish life in the Middle East in the 19th and 20th centuries. The first half of the book is thematic, covering topics including languages, economic life, religion, music, and women. The second half is a country-by-country survey.

The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.

In the Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture.

This article provides key sources in the history of Sephardi Jewry, from its earliest period on the Iberian Peninsula, to the multifaceted impacts of the Expulsion, to its multiple migrations both to the East and West.

The first comprehensive history in English of the Sephardim, descendants of the Jews expelled from Spain in 1492. Paloma Díaz-Mas recounts the journey and customs of Jews as they settled initially in Mediterranean Europe, the Netherlands and Belgium, North Africa, and the Turkish Empire, but in the 19th century, a second diaspora brought the Sephardim to the United States, South America, Israel, and Western Europe. She traces the origins and survival of their unique language and explores the literature they produced.

Sephardic Jewry and Mizrahi Jews offers a collection of new scholarship on the issues of self-definition and identity facing Sephardic Jewry. The essays draw on a variety of disciplines--demography, history, political science, sociology, religious and gender studies, anthropology, and literature.

Sephardic Jews trace their origins to Spain and Portugal. They enjoyed a renaissance in these lands until their expulsion from Spain in 1492, when they settled in the countries along the Mediterranean, throughout the Ottoman Empire, the Balkans, and North Africa, Italy, Egypt, Palestine, and Syria, mixing with the Mizrahi ("eastern", in Hebrew) Jews already in these locations. Sephardic Jews have contributed some of the most important Jewish philosophers, poets, biblical commentators, Talmudic and Halachic scholars, and scientists, and have had a significant impact on the development of Jewish mysticism.