Business Writing: Online Writing

Writing in a Technological World explores how to think rhetorically, act multimodally, and be sensitive to diverse audiences while writing in technological contexts such as social media, websites, podcasts and mobile technologies. Claire Lutkewitte includes a wealth of assignments, activities, and discussion questions to apply theory to practice in the development of writing skills. Featuring real-world examples from professionals who write using a wide range of technologies, each chapter provides practical suggestions for writing for a variety of purposes and a variety of audiences.

Providing a clear, convincing and approachable discussion, this book addresses arenas of online writing: virtual teamwork, instant messaging, emails, corporate communication channels, and social media. Instead of offering do and don't lists, however, it teaches the reader to develop a practice that is observant, reflective, and grounded in the understanding of the basic principles of language and communication. Through real-life examples and case studies, it helps the reader to notice previously unnoticed small details, question previously unchallenged assumptions and practices, and become a competent digital communicator in a wide range of professional contexts.

If you write emails and letters as part of your work, then this book is for you. By applying the suggested guidelines, you will stand a much greater chance of getting the desired reply to your emails in the shortest time possible. Some of the key guidelines covered include: Write meaningful subject lines - otherwise recipients may not even open your mail. Always put the most important point in the first line - otherwise the reader may not read it. Be concise and only mention what is truly relevant. Write the minimum amount possible - you will also make fewer mistakes! Be a little too formal than too informal - you don't want to offend anyone. If you have two long important things to say, say them in separate emails. Give clear instructions and reasonable deadlines. If you need people to cooperate with you, it is essential to highlight the benefits for them of cooperating with you. Empathize with your recipient's busy workload. Never translate typical phrases literally - learn equivalent phrases. The book concludes with a chapter of useful phrases. There is also a brief introduction for trainers on how to teach Business / Commercial English.

Addresses a wide-ranging spectrum of business communication with its straightforward seven-step method. These easy-to-follow steps save you time from start to finish, and helpful checklists will boost your confidence as they keep you on track. You'll learn to promote yourself and your ideas clearly and concisely--whether putting together a persuasive project proposal or dealing with daily email. Laura Brown's supportive, no-nonsense approach to business writing is thoughtfully adapted to the increasingly digital corporate landscape. She provides practical tips and comprehensive examples for all the most popular forms of communication, including slide presentations, résumés, cover letters, web copy, and a thorough guide to the art of crafting e-mails and instant messages.

Get your message across the right way with clear communication. Message Not Received provides the tools and techniques that make an effective writer and public speaker. Particularly on topics related to data and technology, effective communication can present a challenge in business settings. This book shows readers how those challenges can be overcome, and how to keep the message from getting lost in the face of mismatched levels of knowledge, various delivery media, and the library of jargon that too often serves as a substitute for real, meaningful language. Coverage includes idea crystallization, the rapidly changing business environment, Kurzweil's law of accelerating change, and our increasing inability to understand what we are saying to each other. Rich with visuals including diagrams, slides, graphs, charts, and infographics, this guide provides accessible information and actionable guidance toward more effectively conveying the message.

Gone are the days of the traditional sales letter. Engaging with global audiences in an increasingly competitive world means that what you say has to be incisive, relevant and delivered in a way that can't be ignored. On Message provides expert guidance to help you keep up with the demands of the newest of new media, build a community and compete with big players. Packed with examples and practical help, it includes: templates; simple formulae for better messaging; practise exercises; review techniques; tips on flexing your writing muscles, and strategies to develop hard-hitting communication.

Natalie Canavor presents a step-by-step system that shows what to say and how to say it, along with practical techniques to improve writing skills. The book builds confidence, and provides a solid foundation that applies to traditional media such as letters and proposals, and also to email, blogs, web sites, social media and PowerPoint. Readers develop tools to keep improving on their own, and to handle new communication channels as they emerge.

Expert advice for financial advisors looking to make the most of social media platforms. Social media is everywhere. 3.5 billion pieces of content are shared on Facebook each week, 22 million professionals are networking on LinkedIn, and 140 million tweets are posted every day. The opportunities these platforms present for financial advisors are huge, but most advisors have no idea how to use them to build bigger, stronger client bases.