Business Writing: Business Writing Guides

Provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor. The first three chapters form the core foundation for the study of oral and written business communication. The next sequence of chapters focus on the process of writing, then oral performance with an emphasis on results. The final sequence focuses on contexts where business communication occurs, from interpersonal to intercultural, from groups to leadership.

The number one prerequisite for effective management is effective communication--and writing is a critical part of it. Simply put, whether it's a quick e-mail or a 20-page report, your writing is a reflection of you--and people will make judgments accordingly. 'Manager's Guide to Business Writing, Second Edition, ' provides everything you need to give colleagues, customers, and other stakeholders the most information accurately and quickly. Learn how to express yourself as a serious professional by writing everything with clarity, quality, and decisiveness.

Addresses a wide-ranging spectrum of business communication with its straightforward seven-step method. These easy-to-follow steps save you time from start to finish, and helpful checklists will boost your confidence as they keep you on track. You'll learn to promote yourself and your ideas clearly and concisely--whether putting together a persuasive project proposal or dealing with daily email. Laura Brown's supportive, no-nonsense approach to business writing is thoughtfully adapted to the increasingly digital corporate landscape. She provides practical tips and comprehensive examples for all the most popular forms of communication, including slide presentations, résumés, cover letters, web copy, and a thorough guide to the art of crafting e-mails and instant messages.

This textbook provides a comprehensive introduction for students and professionals who are studying English for business or workplace communication and covers both spoken and written English. Based on up-to-date research in business communication and incorporating an international range of real-world authentic texts, this book deals with the realities of communication in business today. Key features of this book include: use of English in social media that reflects recent trends in business communication; coverage of the concept of communicative competence; analysis of email communication; introduction to informal English and English for socialization as well as goodwill messages, such as thank you or appreciation messages, which are a part of everyday interaction in the workplace; examination of persuasive messages and ways to understand such messages; an e-resources website that includes authentic examples of different workplace genres and a reference section covering relevant research studies and weblinks for readers to better understand the topics covered in each chapter.

A contemporary, comprehensive, and engaging introduction to the core elements of oral, interpersonal, and written business communication. The text prepares students for success in a variety of professional settings by detailing the skills and strategies they will need to master to communicate effectively in a diverse and technologically dependent workplace. The emphasis on intercultural communication, digital communication, report writing, research skills, and employment strategies provides students with everything they need to know about communicating in any business setting.

The text instructs business students how to write for the 21st century business environment in the style it demands: clearly, concisely, powerfully, and with individuality. It also addresses explicitly the digital realm of email, social networking, and social media strategies.

How well do you write? Good communication is a skill required by all professionals. Whether you're preparing reports, conducting reviews or simply writing emails, expressing your ideas clearly and persuasively is fundamental to your success in the workplace.