LibGuides: Health Studies & Global Health: Grey Literature

Grey Literature Resources

Grey literature is writing produced by all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic format, but which is not controlled by commerical publishers. In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications. Grey literature may include (but isn't limited to) the following types of materials:

reports (pre-prints, preliminary or advanced reports, technical or statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research, etc.)
theses
conference proceedings
technical specifications and standards
non-commercial translations
bibliographies
technical and commercial documentation
official documents not published commercially (Alberani, 1990).

Trip Medical Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Grey Literature Report from the New York Academy of Medicine
The report is a publication produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 - 2016, alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics.
more...less...
As of January 2017, the Grey Literature Report website and database was discontinued and will no longer be updated, but the resources are archived.
Canadian Medical Association's CPG Infobase
These guidelines are produced or endorsed in Canada by a national, provincial/territorial or regional medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel.
National Institute for Health and Care Research
The NIHR works in partnership with the NHS, universities, local government, other research funders, patients and the public to fund, enable and deliver world-leading health and social care research that improves people's health and wellbeing and promotes economic growth. Their work focuses on early translational research, clinical research and applied health and social care research. Find research under Data and publications and Search Our Evidence.
National Research Register - Department of Health, UK
ARCHIVED. The National Research Register (NRR) is a register of ongoing and recently completed research projects funded by, or of interest to, the United Kingdom's National Health Service. Information is held on over 80,000 research projects and is expected to grow further, as well as entries from the Medical Research Council's Clinical Trials Register, and details on reviews in progress collected by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. This catalog was built through harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.
CiteSeerX
A collection of over 300,000 reports on computer science available on the Internet. 'Autonomous Citation Indexing' allows users to track down the papers that have cited papers that particularly interest them. The citation links are also used to assess the importance of individual papers (on the assumption that the more often a paper is cited, the more significant it is). The system locates related documents and indicates the context in which citations or keywords have been used in retrieved articles.
Source
NOTE: Source will no longer be maintained after March 2023. Contact librarian for info/assistance. References to more than 20,000 international health and disability resources, many of which are unpublished and produced in developing countries. Links to full text publications are being developed.

Subject Guide

Thumeka Mgwigwi

Email Me