FINDING A YORK UNIVERSITY THESIS OR DISSERTATION
For York dissertations written from 1967 to the present:
Start by searching the Dissertations and Theses @ York University database. You can search by keyword, title, adviser or school. The full-text of most York theses and dissertations submitted between 1967 and the present can be downloaded for free. This service is only available to registered York students and faculty.
For York dissertations written between 1967 and the present that were never microfilmed or have some form of embargo restricting access:
Search Omni, the library catalogue. You can search by title, author, or keyword. When you find the entry, note the call number and location. A quick location guide is provided below.
FINDING THESES FROM OTHER UNIVERSITIES
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This database contains citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations and some masters theses from colleges and universities in North America and Europe. Citations are available from 1861 to the present. Abstracts are available for dissertations from 1980 to the present and for masters theses from 1988 to the present.
From 1997, sometimes earlier, the full-text of some dissertations and theses may be downloaded for free in PDF format. Please note that this service is only available to registered York students and faculty.
Theses Canada Portal
The Theses Canada Portal provides free access to the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002.
Index to Theses (Great Britain and Ireland)
An index to theses accepted in the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Covers 1716 - present.
EThOS (Great Britain)
Launched in 2008, the Electronic Theses Online System (EThOS) offers free access to full text versions of British theses. New theses are digitized and added to the database in response to requests from researchers.
Note: Theses and dissertations not available in the Libraries or online can be requested through the Resource Sharing Department.
