Geography: Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Designed to support research at all levels, this collection is comprised of Sage e-books such as the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series and the Qualitative Applications in the Social Science series. Sage Research Methods also includes journal articles, and instructional videos to help researchers find the best research techniques and methods. Excellent coverage of geography and related disciplines.

The Routledge Handbook of Methodologies in Human Geography is the defining reference for academics and postgraduate students seeking an advanced understanding of the debates, methodological developments and methods transforming research in human geography.

The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Geography brings together leading scholars in the field to examine its history, assess the current state of the qualitative geography. The Handbook shows how empirical details of qualitative research can be linked to the broader social, theoretical, political, and policy concerns of qualitative geographers and the communities within which they work. The book is organized into three sections: Part I: Openings engages the history of qualitative geography, and details the ways that research, and the researcher place within it, are conceptualized within broader academic, political, and social currents. Part II: Encounters and Collaborations describes the different strategies of inquiry that qualitative geographers use, and the tools and techniques that address the challenges that arise in the research process. Part III: Making Sense explores the issues and processes of interpretation, and the ways researchers communicate their results.

Key Methods in Geography is the perfect introductory companion, providing an overview of qualitative and quantitative methods for human and physical geography. The fourth edition of this essential and accessible primer covers the breadth of the discipline and offer critical and contextual perspectives on research methods. New coverage takes account of newer technologies and practice, and 9 new chapters bring greater diversity of positionality and perspective to the volume, including decolonial methods, predicting, visualizing and modelling climate and environmental change, and writing up research. Case study examples, summaries and exercises have been included in each chapter to enable learning. This is vital reading for any student undertaking a Geography Methods module as well as a valuable resource for any student embarking on independent research as part of their degree.