LibGuides: Geography: Encyclopedias & Bibliographies

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are useful for acquiring basic background information on a topic and are valuable places to start your research.

Recommended Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Geography by Douglas Richardson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9781118786352
Publication Date: 2017-03-09
Online version of this comprehensive and authoritative overview of the discipline of Geography. It define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Audrey Kobayashi (Editor-In-Chief)
The encyclopedia includes over 1,000 detailed entries on philosophy and theory, key concepts, methods and practices, biographies of notable geographers, and geographical thought and praxis in different parts of the world.
Encyclopedia of Geomorphology by Andrew Goudie (Editor)
Encyclopedia contains nearly 700 alphabetically organized entries to provide a comprehensive guide both to specific landforms and to the major types of geomorphological processes that create them.
Encyclopedia of Globalization by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
This encyclopedia contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization, including agency-structure, Americanization, anti-globalization, Bretton Woods, coca-colonization, empire, Euro crisis, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, nation-state, neo-liberalism, oil, post-globalization, Qaedaism, rape, sex work, sport, terror, transnational corporations, Twitter Revolution, water crisis, Web 2.0, Wikileaks, World Social Forum, Zapatista, and much more.

Complementary Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Each entry features numerous cross references and definitions of weather- and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study. Over 250 photographs, maps, and charts offer highly evocative depictions of various weather and climate conditions.
The Encyclopedia of Earth
This is a free, expert-reviewed, electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
"This set, weighing in at five volumes, attempts to embrace a multidisciplinary and splintered field. The emphasis is on public health problems: description, detection, evaluation, control, and prevention. This involves toxicology, waste management, water and air quality, pesticides, radiation, noise, and communicable diseases."
Encyclopedia of Life
Global access to knowledge about life on Earth
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Available both online and in print this resource contains comprehensive articles relating to the social sciences (anthropology, economics, political science, psychology, sociology, history, geography, law, education, philosophy, linguistics etc.). Includes biographies of important social science theorists. Each entry concludes with a bibliography on each topic.

Oxford Bibliographies in Geography by Barney Warf (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2013-present
This database provides over 270 annotated bibliographies on various topics related to the subject of Geography. Areas of focus are: biogeography, cartography, climatology, cultural geography, economic geography, environmental geography, geographic information systems, geographic methods, geomorphology, human geography, physical geography, political geography, and urban geography.