Geography: Dictionaries

The Dictionary of Human Geography provides clear, critical, and constructive surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field of human geography.

Dictionary of physical geography including terminology related to climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS.

This book presents short essays exploring the key concepts in cultural geography written by leading practitioners, the entries range from questions that have recently emerged to more established ideas that warrant critical examination. Topics include, and are not limited to, (dis)ability, embodiment, governance, heritage,identity, postmodernity, psychogeographies, queer theory, and space.

The Dictionary consists of the basic table of terms in the field of Geography arranged according to the order of the English alphabet with each term numbered. Each entry consists of the term in English and its equivalents in Russian, French, German, Spanish. Short definitions of terms are given in English and in Russian. The terms are supplied with the necessary grammar labels, such as gender of nouns, plural number, etc. The Dictionary combines two functions: that of a defining dictionary and that of a bilingual dictionary.

A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment—its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories. Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics,