Biology: Flora and Fauna

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) is an international government-funded open data infrastructure that provides access to data about all types of life on Earth.

This portal collates authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. It is a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. Searching ITIS will provide links to information about species from multiple databases and collections worldwide. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership provides the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).

This website is a "portal to all living things -- the world's flora and fauna". It links to multiple resources including the Tree of Life, Global Mapper, etc.

The Cornell Lab of Ornithology is a world leader in the study, appreciation, and conservation of birds.

ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®

This is a project to document all named animals, plants and other life forms on earth. It includes images and information on a wide range of species and it an excellent tool for anyone studying ecology or biodiversity.

The Task Force on Systemic Pesticides is the response of the scientific community to concern around the impact of systemic pesticides on biodiversity and ecosystems. Its intention is to provide the definitive view of science to inform more rapid and improved decision-making.

TimeTree is a public knowledge-base for information on the evolutionary timescale of life. Data from thousands of published studies are assembled into a searchable tree of life scaled to time.

The Jane Goodall Institute promotes understanding and protection of great apes and their habitat and builds on the legacy of Dr. Jane Goodall to inspire individual action by young people of all ages to help animals, other people and to protect the world we all share.