Biology: Species Information

Reproductions of Audubon's illustrations and text from Birds of America

North American Breeding Bird Survey (BBS) is a cooperative effort between the U.S. Geological Survey's Patuxent Wildlife Research Center and Environment Canada's Canadian Wildlife Service to monitor the status and trends of North American bird populations. Following a rigorous protocol, BBS data are collected by thousands of dedicated participants along thousands of randomly established roadside routes throughout the continent.

George Barron is Professor Emeritus (College) from the School of Environmental Sciences, University of Guelph. Dr. Barron's work in mycology over the years has garnered numerous awards including the Sigma Xi "Excellence in Research" award from his colleagues at the University of Guelph in 1992 and the Mycological Society of America's "Distinguished Mycologist" award in 1998. He is the author of numerous publications, including the field guides Mushrooms of Ontario and Eastern Canada, and Mushrooms of Northeast North America, published by Lone Pine Publishing.

This report is based on the first-ever conservation vulnerability assessment for all 1,154 native bird species that occur in Canada, the continental United States, and Mexico.

The Cornell Lab of Ornithology is a world leader in the study, appreciation, and conservation of birds.

New Zealand Birds Online is a searchable encyclopaedia of New Zealand birds. You can find detailed information about all 467 species of New Zealand birds, including all living, extinct, fossil, vagrant and introduced bird species.

The Canadian Wildlife Federation’s mission is to conserve and inspire the conservation of Canada’s wildlife and habitats for the use and enjoyment of all.

Contains over 12 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.

Comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada

Information about species found in Canada's boreal forests, forest management, and Ontario's northwest forest.

Read: Digitizing every fish species in the world
The purpose of this OSF project is to establish a clearinghouse of CT scan data that is available under an Open Access model. Scanned content includes: Mammals, Fishes, Fossils & Squamates.

Global and public resource on all fish species of the world.

Information on amphibian declines, natural history, conservation, and taxonomy.

Names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico. Also available in print (QK 110 F55 1993).

Standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

A catalogue of all living reptile species and their classification covering 9,500 species and 2,800 subspecies of snakes, lizards, turtles, amphisbaenians, tuataras, and crocodiles. The database focuses on taxonomic data (names and synonyms), distribution and type data and literature references.

Database of mammalian taxonomy, based upon Wilson, D. E., Reeder, D. M. (Eds.) (2005). Mammal Species of the World: a Taxonomic and Geographic Reference (3rd ed.). Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press.

An authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including information on synonymy. While highest priority goes to valid names, other names in use are included so that this register can serve as a guide to interpret taxonomic literature.

The William A. Watkins Collection of Marine Mammal Sound Recordings consists of recordings of various marine mammal species collected over a span of seven decades in a wide range of geographic areas by Watkins and many others.

Searchable database of biodiversity literature

Comprehensive and authoritative global index of species consisting of a single integrated species checklist and taxonomic hierarchy.

Free & open access global biodiversity data

Organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database

Searchable database of field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world

An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Includes in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.