LibGuides: Finance: Bonds

Corporate Bonds

Mergent Online
Under Company Details, the Long Term Debt contains corporate bond information.
Markets Insider Bonds
Scroll down to the Bond Finder section > insert the public company name in question > set Bond Type as Corporate > hit the Search button to view the results.
FINRA Bonds
This section includes general bond market information such as news, benchmark yields, and corporate bond market activity and performance information, descriptive data on U.S. Treasury, Agency, Corporate and Municipal Bonds, Credit Rating Information from major rating agencies, and price information with real-time transaction prices for Corporate and Agency Bonds (TRACE), Municipal Bonds (MSRB) and end of day prices for U.S. Treasury Bonds.
FP bonds: Corporate
HG 5151 B65 Reference (book)
Published annually this publication lists outstanding publicly and privately held debt securites issued by Canadian companies.
Ontario Financing Authority Bond Database

Goverment & Municipal Bonds

IHS Markit Connect (formerly DataInsight Web)
Covers governmental bonds and many international bond indexes. Please turn VPN on before accessing the database.
Mergent Archives
Contains Moody's/Mergent Manuals. 1909+. (Municipals, Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utitility, Transportation, Over the Counter Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Municipals). Under Mergent Manuals > select Municipal Manuals > insert Issue Name > select Year to search.
FP bonds: Government
HJ 8513 B66 Reference (book)
Published annually this publication lists outstanding publicly and privately held debt securiteis issued by the Government of Canada, the provinces and selected government agencies.
CANSIM Multidimensional
Once in CANSIM, click link Vital economic and social statistics about Canada and then Financial markets, under Interest rates and exhange rates you will find the 90-day treasury bills and long term Canada bond rates (over 10 years).
Bank of Canada Bond Yield
Selected bond and treasury bill yields as well as a 10-year bond yield lookup.
Monthly Statement of the Public Debt (US)
1953+
Market Insider Bonds
Scroll down to the Bond Finder section > insert the country name in question > set Bond Type as Government > hit the Search button to view the results.
FINRA Bonds
This section includes general bond market information such as news, benchmark yields, and corporate bond market activity and performance information, descriptive data on U.S. Treasury, Agency, Corporate and Municipal Bonds, Credit Rating Information from major rating agencies, and price information with real-time transaction prices for Corporate and Agency Bonds (TRACE), Municipal Bonds (MSRB) and end of day prices for U.S. Treasury Bonds.
EMMA (Electronic Market Municipal Access for the US)
The EMMA website is funded and operated by the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB), the self-regulatory organization charged by Congress with promoting a fair and efficient municipal securities market. EMMA is designated by the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission as the official source for municipal securities data and disclosure documents. The website provides free public access to objective municipal market information and interactive tools for investors, municipal entities and others. EMMA supports municipal market transparency but is not a platform for buying or selling bonds.

Bond Credit Ratings

DBRS MorningStar Ratings

DBRS Ratings can be accessed freely by registering a free account with DBRS. The accessible content levels are different between Free Registered and Subscribed accounts.
DBRS Ratings can also be available through books: FP bonds: Corporate (Call number: HG 5151 B65 Reference) and FP bonds: Government (Call number: HJ 8513 B66 Reference)

Moody's Ratings

Moody's Ratings can be accessed freely by registering a free account with Moody's
Rating methodology, peer groups and more are also freely accessible through the site.

Standard & Poor's Ratings

Some S&P Ratings and reports can be accessed freely by regitering a free account.

Fitch Ratings: Fitch Ratings can be accessed freely with Fitch Ratings and access:

Global Credit Ratings
Recent press releases, presale and criteria reports
Topical research on global fixed income markets

Credit Ratings can be accessed through

Bloomberg CRPR Credit Rating Profile. FII CTRB Fich Ratings. RATC is very useful to track rating changes.
Datastream also contains Credit Ratings information.
Factiva

Click Company in the left column to insert the company name in question > click Subject in the left column and then insert Corporate Credit Ratings > hit the Search button

Related Subject Guides

Please explore the links below for research guides on a number of related subjects.

Useful Websites

1. Best's Country Risk Center

2. GlobalEDGE has a great deal of country-specific information including risk assessments for most countries

3. Coface offers tailored credit insurance services