LibGuides: Human Resource Management: Legal Research Databases

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias provide summaries of a point of law, as well as overviews for legal issues, and usually include references to important cases and/or legislation.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada via Quicklaw
This resource provides overviews of Canadian legal principles and is a useful starting point for understanding areas of the law. To access: Once you have signed into Quicklaw, look under Secondary Materials > Legal Encyclopedias and click Halsbury's Laws of Canada.
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest via Westlaw Next
Also known as the C.E.D, this resource provides brief overviews of most major areas of law, and highlights important cases and statutes. To access this resource, sign-in to WestlawNext, under Commentary you will find the C.E.D. link. Click on this link and use the A-Z menu to find the point of law you're interested in, such as Employment Law.

Legal Dictionaries & Other Reference Tools

The New Oxford Companion to Law
Provides clear and concise definitions which are slightly more detailed than basic legal dictionaries.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This free database allows you to search for the meaning of legal abbreviations from Canada, the UK, the US, and other Commonwealth countries.

Legal Research Databases

CanLII
CanLII is a free database and can be used to search for federal, provincial, and territorial case law, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations.
Lexis Advance Quicklaw
Search court cases, tribunal cases, legislation, commentary, and legal journals.
Westlaw Next
On the far right-hand side of Westlaw Next, click on either EmploymentSource or LabourSource to access employment and labour law specific cases and decisions, statutes and regulations, commentary, articles, and newsletters.

Legal Books on Employment & Labour Law

Canadian Labour Law, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Available Online (via Westlaw Next)
Canadian Labour Arbitration
Call Number: Available Online

Consult the following link for additional books on employment and labour law topics.

Useful Law Blogs

Additional blogs can be found via the list of Employment and Labour Law Blogs on the Canadian Law Blogs List.

Human Resource Management: Legal Research Databases

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal Dictionaries & Other Reference Tools

Legal Research Databases

Legal Books on Employment & Labour Law

Useful Law Blogs

Related Guides