LibGuides: Human Resource Management: Newspaper Articles

Why Newspaper Articles?

Newspaper articles can be a good source of up-to-date or historical information on HRM topics. They are also considered to be primary sources since they are often the first published account of an event. York University has a wide range of newspapers from all over the world and many parts of Canada. These may be available in many formats - paper, electronic, or microform.

Newspaper Articles - Canada

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers. It includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post, as well as other regional Canadian newspapers. Other resources in Factiva include newswires, news web sites, blogs and podcasts, and many trade and popular magazines. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live webinars.
Canadian Newsstand: Major Dailies
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include: National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist
CBCA Reference & Current Events
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference & Current Events provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. Can be useful for researching Canadian current interest/news topics.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star (1894-2011)
Covering 1894-2011, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail (1844-2010)
Provides full text-access to Globe and Mail articles from 1844 to 2010.

Newspaper Articles - International

Factiva
Factiva is a reputable news source, offering full-text coverage of over 3,000 national, international and regional newspapers, including major titles such as The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, the New York Times, and the Guardian. Also includes the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Other resources in Factiva include newswires, news web sites, blogs and podcasts, and many trade and popular magazines. The Factiva LibGuide provides insight into this collection and links to live webinars.
Nexis Uni
Makes available thousands of news, business, and legal information sources. Included are current international newspapers, as well as news magazines, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and newsletters. Tutorial
Financial Times- Historical Archive
Every item printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Topics covered include industry, energy, international politics, management, personal finance and arts
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2010
Provides access to the Economist online as a fully searchable digital collection from 1843-2010. Articles etc. are provided in PDF format, i.e. as they appear in the print version. Includes news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photograph, as well as special surveys and supplements on countries and industries.
New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2005) from Proquest offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Full text of the New York Times 1851- also available in Scott Microtext. Current issues available in Scott Periodicals Reading Room.
Wall Street Journal. Eastern ed.
The Wall Street Journal (Jan 2 1984-) from Proquest provides indexing and full-text access.

Full text of the Wall Street Journal July 8 1889- also available in Bronfman Microtext. Current issues available in Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.
WorldNewspapers.com
Find information and links for newspapers around the world.