Jewish Studies

By one of Israel's most notable scholars, this book provides a history of Israel from the origins of the Zionist movement in the late 19th century to the present day. It explores the emergence of Zionism in Europe against the backdrop of relations among Jews, Arabs, and Ottoman Turks, and the earliest pioneer settlements in Palestine under Ottoman rule. Shapira covers mass immigration, shifting cultural norms, the politics of war and world diplomacy, and the creation of democratic institutions and a civil society.

This annotated bibliography includes scholarly sources by Israeli and Palestinian-Israeli historians from a variety of methodological and ideological standpoints, including canonical histories of the State and post-Zionist critique by the New Historians school of thought.

A comprehensive reference for the growing field of Israel studies and is also a significant resource for students and scholars of comparative politics, recognizing that in many ways Israel is not unique but rather a test case of democracy in deeply divided societies and states engaged in intense conflict. The Oxford Handbook of Israeli Politics and Society considers the role of external hostilities, but this is not taken as the main determinant of Israel's internal politics. Rather, the Handbook presents an overview of the historical development of Israeli democracy through chapters examining the country's history, contemporary society, political institutions, international relations, and most pressing political issues.

This annotated bibliography includes scholarly sources about the economics of the State of Israel.

Annotated bibliography about the evolution of politics in Israel, with a focus on Israeli political leadership.

This publication is intended to clarify the region's complex history and issues. The contributors' set out to explore seven significant themes that are usually not found in other sources: culture, religion, women, economics, governance, and media, as well as the role that the region's modern history has played in shaping its society and worldview.

Bringing together a range of experts from Israel, Palestine, Europe and North America, the Handbook tackles a range of topics including: the historical background to the conflict, peace efforts, domestic politics, critical issues such as displacement, Jerusalem and settler movements, the role of outside players such as the Arab states, the US and the EU.