Supply Chain Management (SCM) : Databases

• Bloomberg      
  Bloomberg provides data (when available) on a company’s suppliers. Available on a standalone workstation in the Bronfman Business Library. You can book a time to use this database through Bloomberg Booking online (up to two hours each person per day). Restricted to the York University Community. 
  
  Example: To locate information on suppliers of Apple Company:
• Type the following into the command line: AAPL < EQUITY > SPLC < GO>
• OR display an equity, with the cursor at the top left of the screen type SPLC <GO>
• OR display an equity, from the equity menu under the Company Analysis heading, select the Supply Chain Analysis (SPLC) sub-menu item.
• The default view is the chart view which can be switched to a table view. See screen captures in the database section of the General SCM Research page.   
   
• Mergent Online   
  Mergent Online provides suppliers information under the Supply Chain tab. It has information on suppliers, customers, and competitors etc.. 

• Statista     

Statista is a statistics portal and comprehensive, easy-to-use resource. It contains Procurement/Suppliers info.

• Marketline Advantage      
  To find the supplying companies hover over Browse by Industries and select Ingredient or Sourcing from the industry list. Provides links to company reports, case studies, financial deals and company news. After you open up a company report, you may find information including key employees and biographies, location and subsidiaries, major products and services. SWOT analysis reports may be available for some companies.                    

   Note: If you are aware of a company's name which operating as a supplier, you may use additional databases listed on our Company Research Guide for more information on this company. Look under the Finding Companies tab to search for Public Companies or Private Companies.

• Passport (Formerly GMID)      
  Provides worldwide data and analysis on ingredients and packaging industries. 
  To find information on ingredients/packaging, hover Industries at the top and click Ingredients/Packaging under the Supply section. 

• IBISWorld      

Includes comprehensive industry reports on smaller niche industries which are harder to find. IBIS World is particularly good for showing where an industry sits in a supply chain. The About this Industry tab for each industry will have a chart showing supply industries. Select Supply Chain under the Products & Markets tab to identify key selling industries (or suppliers) for the industry you are researching. Consult our  Quick Guide which features an example of finding supplier information on the ice cream industry in Canada using IBISWorld.  

• ProcurementIQ (formerly IBISWorld Procurement): Covers a multitude of indirect purchasing lines for 1,000 business-to-business product and service markets in the United States. These reports will assist York students and researchers by facilitating industry research especially in areas such as purchasing, supply chain management and strategic sourcing. These detailed reports cover price environment, product characteristics, supply chain and vendors (including supplier benchmarking and supply chain risk), elements of purchasing process, and negotiation questions and tactics. Our newly subscribed Canada Spotlight Reports offer focused and highly-actionable information on a variety of products and services in the Canadian market. Use them to get up-to-speed quickly and speak knowledgeably with your stakeholders about a variety of Canadian markets. 

• Marketline Advantage      
  Hover over Sectors and select a particular sector from the sector list. Individual industry profile reports covering market data, market segmentation, market outlook, leading companies and five forces analysis if applicable.