Supply Chain Management (SCM) : Databases

• IBISWorld      Includes Canadian, U.S. Industry Reports (NAICS), China Reports and U.S. Industry iExpert Summaries, Global Industry Reports and U.S. Business Environment Profiles. Type "warehousing" into the search box. Reports on public storage and warehousing,  storage and warehousing leasing, etc. are available. These reports are comprehensive and include the following tabs: Industry at a glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Operating Conditions and Key Statistics.
   
• Passport (formerly GMID)      
  Provides industry overviews, statistics on market share, exports and imports, company profiles, suppliers, buyers and much more. Coverage is offered for the cargo handling, warehousing, and travel agencies industry. Click Search in the top left corner of the screen. Under "Search Full Tree" next to the "Categories and Topics" click on the Go button. Type "warehousing" into the search box and hit the Enter key.

• Statista     

Statista is a statistics portal and a comprehensive, easy-to-use resource. It provides Inventory and Warehousing info.

• Marketline Advantage      
  Good for industry and company research. Type in warehousing or storage into the search box and hit the Enter key to get everything about warehousing. You may filter results by secter, geography or publication date using the Refinements options in the left column. Provides industry reports, company analysis (including SWOT profiles if applicable), case studies, financial deals and news. 
   
•  Industry Canada  
   Industry Canada includes Canadian Industry Statistics which allows you to search for statistical data by industry. Type warehousing into the search box to bring up a list of relevant industry sectors and NAICS codes. Clicking either the NAICS code or industry name will direct you to detailed information including establishments, financials, company directories, etc. 

If you want to find information on a company focused on storage or warehousing services, you may consult our Company Research Guide. You need to know if it is a public or private company before using the databases under the Finding Companies tab in this guide. Check other tabs for resources to help you find competitors, annual reports, financials,  and much more about the company you are researching.

• Manufacturing and Trade Inventories and Sales (monthly, U.S. Census Bureau)  
  A report providing the values of trade and business sales, and of product inventories for manufacturers, retailers and wholesalers, along with the inventories/sales ratio which is a guide to how long existing inventories will last if the current rate of sales continues. Rates of change within the report are indications regarding economic growth or contraction. Click on the above link to find the title in the library catalogue, and click where it says Click to access this resource.  
   
• Current Industrial Reports. M3-3, Benchmark Report for Manufacturers' Shipments, Inventories, and Orders (monthly, U.S. Census Bureau)  
  The M3 provides broad-based monthly statistical data on manufacturers' value of shipments, new orders (net of cancellations), end-of-month order backlog (unfilled orders), end-of-month total inventory, materials and supplies, work-in-process, and finished goods inventories (at current cost or market value). Data are collected and tabulated predominantly by 6-digit NAICS codes from manufacturing establishments with $500 million or more in annual shipments. Click on the above link to find the title in the library catalogue, and click where it says Click to access this resource.