Supply Chain Management (SCM) : Databases

• FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research)      
  Contains quarterly surveys and forecasts on industries by country. These reports are quite extensive and comprehensive. Please follow our step-by-step FitchConnect guides to locate the Consumer & Retail industry reports. A country's Consumer and Retail report typically includes industry view, industry forecast, industry risk, SWOT, market overview, competitive landscape, etc. 
   
• Passport (formerly GMID)       
  Also known as Passport, this is a global market research database from Euromonitor offering reports, analysis, statistics, and news on industries, countries, consumers, and companies worldwide. This includes market research reports covering many consumer goods and service categories, consumer lifestyle analysis, and profiles and rankings of leading consumer goods companies. To find comprehensive information on the retail industry click Industries> Services> Retailing. Select category, analysis type and geography before hitting Go.
   

• Statista     

Statista is a statistics portal and comprehensive, easy-to-use resource. It provides information on Distribution Channels. 

• Mergent Online      Provides analysis of over thirty key industries including retail. Main areas contained in each report include: the industry landscape, market trends and market outlook. To access the retail industry reports: click on the Industry Analysis tab > click Historical Industry Reports sub tab  > select Retail from the industry list.

• IBISWorld      
  IBISWorld covers research reports on retailing and wholesaling by specific category. For instance, searching by key word "wholesale" will bring up search results. Under Industry Reports (Canada) you may find links to reports on Warehouse Clubs & Supercentres, Jewellery & Watch Wholesaling, Electronic Part & Equipment Wholesaling, Tool & Hardware Wholesaling,  Clothing & Clothing Accessories Wholesaling. Industry reports are quite comprehensive and include the following tabs: Industry at a glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Operating Conditions and Key Statistics.
   
• Marketline Advantage       
  Includes Industry reports, country information, company analysis, case studies and financial deals. It has retail industry reports.
   
• WARC      
  Provides information on marketing in the retail sector. Click on Topics at the top and select Retail from the list. This includes case studies,  articles, videos and research papers. Also includes industry trends and analysis, company profiles and more.
   
• Industry Canada  
  Information on retail trade is found in the Services Industries section under the Industrial Category tab. Canadian retail industry reports provide unique analysis of the consumer demand, market trend,  retail sector innovation and practices.
  
  Industry Canada includes Canadian Industry Statistics which allows you to search for statistical data by industry. Type "retail" or "wholesale" into the search box to bring up a list of relevant industry sectors and NAICS codes. Clicking either the NAICS code or industry name will direct you to detailed information including establishments, financials, company directories, etc.

• ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (Proquest)     
  Contains Business Monitor International(BMI) Industry Reports and First Research Industry Reports. To access the BMI Industry Reports on retail industry, click the "Browse" link at the top, then select the link for BMI Industry Reports under Industry and Market Research. You can find Retail Industry from the list and start browsing by country. To access First Research Industry reports, click on the link for First Research under Industry and Market Research. You will find Retailing Industry on the list and click on View Documents.
   
   
   

• Passport (formerly GMID)       
  Also known as Passport, this is a global market research database from Euromonitor offering reports, analysis, statistics, and news on industries, countries, consumers, and companies worldwide. This includes market research reports covering many consumer goods and service categories, consumer lifestyle analysis, and profiles and rankings of leading consumer goods companies. Click Search in the top left corner of the screen. Under "Search Full Tree" next to the "Categories and Topics" click on the Go button. A blank box appears allowing you to type in a specific topic. Once you have chosen the categories of interest, choose Geographies of interest, and run your search. In the Result page, under the Distribution section click on the View Full Data Set button. Please note that not every category contains a Distribution section.

• Mergent Online     Provides information on distribution in annual reports of companies. Mergent Online provides information on the customers of a company under the Supply Chain tab/
   
• Bloomberg      
  Bloomberg provides data (when available) on a company’s customers. Use the SPLC function to locate a specific company’s supply chain. This command lets you track a company's customers. For example, to locate IBM’s customers, type the following into the command line: IBM US [Equity] SPLC <GO>. 
   
• WARC       
  A good source of information on marketing channels. 
  ​
• Proquest Business       
  On the Data and Reports search interface, input the keywords, for example, "distribut* AND "Company name".  Offers reports, data and articles on distribution channels of companies.  Tip: narrow results by subjects. From the right navigation, look for the subject terms "distribution channels", "distributors", "direct selling" and other related words. 
   
• SEDAR 
  Provides access to electronic filings submitted by public companies to the Canadian Securities Administrators. Also available on company websites. Search for keywords like distribution or supply chain within the report by searching the pdf or using CTRL + F.
   
• EDGAR  Provides access to submissions from public companies required by law to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Search SEC Company filings for Company 10-Ks (U.S.). Or search the websites of publicly traded U.S. companies. Search for keywords like distribution or supply chain within the 10-K, using CTRL+ F.