Supply Chain Management (SCM) : Databases

• IBISWorld      
  Includes Canadian, U.S. Industry Reports (NAICS), China Reports and U.S. Industry iExpert Summaries, Global Industry Reports and U.S. Business Environment Profiles. Search by the keywords: transport or logistics. These reports are comprehensive, and include the following tabs: Industry at a Glance, Performance, Outlook, Products & Markets, Competitive Landscape, Operating Conditions and Key Statistics.
   
• FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research)      
  Contains quarterly surveys and forecasts on industries by country. These reports are quite extensive and comprehensive. Freight Transport & Shipping and Infrastructure are particularly relevant to logistics. Please follow our step-by-step FitchConnect guides to locate the industry reports. 
   
• Statista     ​

Statista is a statistics portal and a comprehensive, easy-to-use resource. It has statistics and Market Data about Transport & Logistics.

• Passport (formerly GMID)      
  Global Market Information Database by Euromonitor): Provides industry overview, statistics on market share, exports and imports, company profiles and much more related to the transportation industry.
  
  Click Search in the top left corner of the screen. Under "Search Full Tree" next to the "Categories and Topics" click on the Go button.. A blank box appears allowing you to type in a specific category or topic. Type the word "transport."  You will get a set of results showing where transport appears in various thematic categories. Once you have chosen the categories of interest, choose Geographies of interest, and run your search.
   
• Marketline Advantage      
  Provides industry reports on the transport and logistics sectors. Marketline's industry profiles are based on Porter's Five Forces Analysis.
  SWOT profiles may be available for companies. To find the reports, Click Browse by Industries and select Transport and Logistics from the industry list. You may refine your search by keywords, sector, geography and date.
   
• Industry Canada  
  Information on logistics and supply chain management is found in the Services Industries section under Industrial Category tab. The Industry Profile tab provides statistics, economic overview, and major trends analysis of freight transport and logistics industry for 2007-2011. Also look to the left panel for Publications on logistics and  supply chain management.
  Canadian Industry Statistics allows you to search for statistical data by industry. Type transport into the search box to bring up a list of relevant industry sectors and NAICS codes. Clicking either the NAICS code or industry name will direct you to more details such as establishments, financials, company directories, etc.

• Mergent Online      
  Provides analysis of over thirty key industries. Main areas contained in each report include: the industry landscape, market trends and market outlook. To access the industry reports click on the Industry Analysis tab > click Historical Industry Reports sub tab > select industries related with transport and logistics such as automotive, aerospace & defense and shipping. 

 If you want to find information on a company operating in the logistics industry, e.g. transport carrier or logistics company, you may consult our Company Research Guide. You need to know if it is a public or private company before using the databases under the Finding Companies tab in this guide. Check other tabs for resources to help you find competitors, annual reports financials, and much more about the company you are researching.