Nursing: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions -- including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures -- offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions.

Featuring over 54,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Sixth Edition contains the medical terminology used in over 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas—plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field.

Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 dictionary, subject reference, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. They include a Dictionaries of Nursing, Medicine, Public Health, Psychology, Food and Nutrition, and Medicinal Drugs. There is also a Companion to the Body and a Companion to Medicine.

The new edition of Black’s Medical Dictionary is a useful resource for health-care professionals, students, and educated lay readers. It contains more than 5,000 definitions of medical terms and concepts ranging in length from a few sentences to several paragraphs. It also has more than 1,000 diagrams, drawings, and color illustrations.

Provides entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

Lippincott's Visual Encyclopedia of Clinical Skills is an innovative book that improves nursing skills through the use of close-up pictures. More than 700 detailed, full-color photographs, diagrams, step-by-step illustrations, and other graphics help nurses better understand the correct way to perform everyday clinical skills and procedures. More than 220 current nursing procedures are made instantly understandable through an innovative visual approach.

Written by eminent nursing professionals, this book provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership. It includes an extensive overview of current leadership issues including theories, characteristics, and skills required of nurse leaders in today's complex health care system. 

Health & Wellness Resource Center (HWRC) provides integrated access to medical, statistical, health, and wellness information. It includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Users are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness.

This guide is a comprehensive database of cancer information. It covers a wide range of topics including risk reduction, screening, diagnosis, treatment and supportive care on many types of cancer. The content is reviewed and updated regularly. This resource also includes a glossary of terms.