LibGuides: Nursing: Theories & Theorists

Nursing Theories

Find additional Nursing Videos in York University Libraries. These videos can be used for presentation, as study tools or as references in your assignments. To find videos on specific nursing-related subjects, focus by selecting a subject area from the right side column.

Nursing Theories and theorists - library search
Find materials on Nursing Theories in The York Libraries catalogue. To focus the search to find information by or about a single theorist, add a field, enter the last name of the theorist and search the catalogue.
Nurse Theorists: Portraits of Excellence Videos
This is a collection of videos that describe the life, theory and work of nurse theorists who have helped to shape their profession. They are not available as streaming videos, however, the CD-ROMs can be borrowed from the Steacie Library Circulation Desk.
Nursing Theories
This is a collection of class notes and handouts on various aspects of nursing theory. Includes a series of nursing theory quizzes to test your knowledge.
Nursing-Theory.org
Contains a wealth of information on theories, theorists, and famous nurses, as well as links to articles covering current topics within the profession.
Nursing History - University of Pennsylvania
Contains background information on the the nursing profession throughout history (including the development of specific nursing theories).
Nursing Theories and Models (Hahn University)
This is a collaborative effort by an international group. We are interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world. You will find links to pages built and maintained by others who have knowledge about a theory.
Making the Work of Florence Nightingale Available
Gotlieb Center spearheads collaboration to digitize the letters of the founder of modern nursing
The Florence Nightingale Digitization Project
This project began in 2014 as a collaborative effort between the Florence Nightingale Museum in London, England, the Boston University Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center, the Royal College of Nursing and the Wellcome Library. More collaborative partners are in the process of joining the Project. Together, these institutions have compiled their holdings into a collaborative database consisting currently of almost 1900 letters handwritten or narrated by Florence Nightingale that for the first time are now available to researchers through a single source.
Health Promotion Model Manual - Pender, N.J.
This manual contains an overview of the Health Promotion Model, its component variables, and theoretical propositions. Clinical assessment tools and information about research instruments are included in the manual.

Social Psychology and Feminist theories

Handbook of Social Psychology

These are the products of searches in the library catalogue. To sort for electronic accesss, please select e-books.

Psychological Tests & Mental Measurements

Guide to Finding Psychological Tests
An excellent place to start if you're not familiar with the resources for finding and securing psychological tests. This guide is intended to provide information on doing three things: (i) help identify tests suitable for particular research questions; (ii) help find information about a known test; (iii) help determine if a test is available at York University.

Getting information about and getting hold of tests can be complicated. For an introduction to finding psychological tests, including tests available at York University, see the Guide to Finding Psychological Tests.

Psychological tests (or mental measurements) are standardized evaluations administered to measure psychological variables such as intelligence, cognitive ability, personality, or emotional functioning. Tests can use written, visual or verbal methods, and are commonly used in the fields of psychology, education and management. Well known examples of psychological tests are: the Stanford-Binet (IQ) Test, the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI), and the Rorschach Ink Blot Test. The resources listed are two key resources; however, there are others.

PsycTESTS
A database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Thus, it is a good place to start a search for non-commercial tests. When you access PsycTESTS, it is best to only select the checkbox for PsycTESTS. Uncheck the boxes to deactivate other databases that are available.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Contains data from Yearbook 9 onwards.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.