The Compendium of Standards of Practice for Nurses in Ontario comprises everything a practising nurse needs to know about the regulation of the nursing profession in Ontario. CNO standards are included in full, as well as information on College governance, the Quality Assurance Program, complaints and discipline procedures and more.
Maintained by the Public Health Agency of Canada, this portal includes links to research and interventions for preventing chronic disease and health promotion.
Best Practice information sheets (or guidelines) are produced specifically for practicing health professionals and are based on the best available research evidence as reported in systematic reviews. Searches in JBI can be limited to Best Practice Information sheets as well as other related evidence-informed publication types such as: Evidence Summaries, EB Recommended Practice, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Technical Reports, Systematic Review Protocols, and Review Titles.
Clinical Evidence is a monthly, updated directory of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions. It is published by the BMJ Publishing Group.
Evidence-Based Nursing selects from the health related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. The clinical relevance and rigour of the studies is assessed to identify research that is relevant to nursing. A commentary on chosen articles identifies the key findings and implications for clinical practice.
- DARE Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness - NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) - Health Technology Assessment Database Provides summaries of all Cochrane reviews and protocols as well as select summaries of Campbell reviews between between 1994 and March 2015. Funding has ceased and records are no longer being added to the database.
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) is a growing, international movement in health care that aims to bring the best evidence from medical research to the bedside, clinic, and community. Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) is a definitive electronic information resource in the EBM movement.
Evidence Summaries are produced for researchers and practicing health professionals and are based on research evidence reported in systematic reviews. Searches in JBI can be limited to Evidence Summaries as well as other related evidence-informed publication types such as: Best Practice Information sheets, EB Recommended Practice, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Technical Reports, Systematic Review Protocols, and Review Titles.
This is the OVID proprietary version of the Cochrane Library. The citations are linked to full text when the journals are included in our library subscriptions
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database
An evidence-based review journal that translates the best evidence into the best nursing research, education, administration, and policy and practice. Each issue contains knowledge synthesis as well as original articles.
Systematic reviews provide a summary of the literature on a particular topic. The selected systematic reviews in this Portal address health promotion and chronic disease prevention.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 19,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
Welcome to JBI@OVID! Document types include: Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, EB Recommended Practice, Best Practice Information Sheets, Consumer Information Sheets, Technical Reports, Systematic Review Protocols, and Review Titles.
A refereed, online journal that publishes systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology and undertaken by the Joanna Briggs Institute and its international collaborating centers and groups. These reviews may be of quantitative or qualitative research data, text and/or opinion, relate to economic data or combinations of the above. The JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports also publishes the Institute's implementation reports.
Campbell Systematic Reviews is the peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. Campbell systematic reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, and social welfare.
Trip is a clinical search engine for finding high quality research evidence in the support of practice. It also indexes images, videos, patient information pamphlets, educational courses and news.
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record in PROSPERO. This will provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception, and enable comparison of reported review findings with what was planned in the protocol.
Evidence-Based Nursing selects from the health related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. The clinical relevance and rigour of the studies is assessed to identify research that is relevant to nursing. A commentary on chosen articles identifies the key findings and implications for clinical practice.
Evidence Based Midwifery is the RCM’s research journal, which promotes the dissemination, implementation and evaluation of midwifery evidence locally, nationally and internationally. It publishes papers that report findings from qualitative or quantitative research studies, philosophical analyses and systematic reviews.
Bandolier is a UK journal that reports information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did not: a bandolier with bullets. Information comes from systematic reviews, meta-analyses, randomised trials, and from high quality observational studies.
Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making. Includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ); protocols from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA); recommendations from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF); Clinical Practice Guidelines; guidance and research on methods from the AHRQ Effective Health Care Program; Archived guidelines and reports
ACP Journal Club's general purpose is to select from the biomedical literature articles that report original studies and systematic reviews that warrant immediate attention by physicians attempting to keep pace with important advances in internal medicine. These articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts.
CINAHL indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, audiovisuals and educational software, dissertations, conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Topics include all aspects of nursing, emergency services, health education,health administration, consumer health and alternative therapies. Coverage is from 1982 - present. A tutorial on searching in CINAHL is available.
Medline is produced by the National Library of Medicine, and includes material from the International Nursing Index. It covers the broad field of biomedicine, and includes toxicology, nursing, nutrition, pharmacology, medicine, dentistry, psychiatry, medical engineering and pathology. Coverage is from 1966 - present.
PubMed is a biomedical search system designed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine. The subject scope of MEDLINE is biomedicine and health, and includes a significant collection of nursing and allied health journals. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly. Coverage is from 1966 - present.
Scopus indexes a sizeable international collection of nursing journals going back to 1960. Scopus covers many titles from EMBASE and is integrated with Scirus web search to cover the scientific web.
Web of Science provides bibliographic and citation information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It allows you to search for articles by subject, author, journal and author address in addition to citation searching. Coverage is from 1945 - present.
The goal of this website is to help develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practise and teach EBM for undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education for health care professionals from a variety of clinical disciplines.
The Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library - offering nurses around the globe, FREE online access to reliable nursing research and evidence-based knowledge.
McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit provides access to current best evidence from research, tailored to specific health care interests, to support evidence-based clinical decisions. All citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing nurses.
Systematic reviews provide a summary of the literature on a particular topic. The selected systematic reviews in this Portal address health promotion and chronic disease prevention.
The ultimate goal of this site is to facilitate the adoption and implementation of effective policies/programs/interventions at the local and regional public health decision making levels across Canada.
The Effective Public Health Practice Project (EPHPP) is a key initiative of the Public Health Research, Education and Development Program (PHRED). It is jointly funded by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and the City of Hamilton Public Health Services.
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
speechBITE is a database that provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
This guide includes links to sources of information to assist in the steps of the systematic review process, as well as links to resources for searching for original studies to be included in a review.
Excel Workbooks enable you to document all of your searches and results (both database and non-database), calculate Cohen's kappa, screen titles & abstracts (1 or 2 people); and record full text decisions. The last worksheet in the PRIMARY workbook contains a PRISMA flowchart.
Critical appraisal is the process of carefully and systematically examining research to judge its trustworthiness, and its value and relevance in a particular context. CASP provides resources and learning and development opportunities to support critical appraisal skills development.
This website from Duke University brings together teaching materials, exercises, examples, resources and links for teaching the process of evidence-based practice.
Search filters are predefined strategies to improve recall and retrieve maximum recall of primary research of gold standard studies i.e. randomized trials (RCTs), systematic reviews, meta-analysis etc. and clinical queries such as diagnosis, prognosis, etiology and therapy. Typically, search filters are used to refine search results, particularly for complex topics.
This resource from Tufts University lists Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) that are recommended for evidence-based medicine research. Subheadings are also provided that can be used to narrow a particular MeSH. Each MeSH in this list is linked to its "Scope Note" in the PubMed database. A "Scope Note" provides information on how a particular MeSH is used in MEDLINE, what synonyms it covers, and cross references to other relevant MeSH.
Critical appraisal is integral toEvidence Based Practice. It aims to identify methodological flaws in the literature and enables informed decision making about the quality of research evidence. This list of critical appraisal tools is linked to the websites where they were developed.
