Nursing: Drugs and Diseases

The DPD contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. The database is managed by Health Canada and includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinary drugs, radiopharmaceutical drugs and disinfectant products.

This Online Database contains information about suspected adverse reactions (side effects) to health products. Reports are submitted by consumers and health professionals, who submit reports voluntarily, and manufacturers and distributors (market authorization holders), who are required to submit reports according to the Food and Drugs Act.
Information concerning vaccines used for immunization has only been included in the database since January 1, 2011. Information concerning human blood and blood components has only been included in the database since September 1, 2015.

The Natural Health Products Directorate (NHPD) has changed its name to the Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (NNHPD) subsequent to its recently expanded mandate to include the oversight of non-prescription and disinfectant drugs in addition to natural health products (NHPs).

Drug information resources by topic. Not all links are kept up to date.

The Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD) is a program of the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) and is funded by two parts of the National Institutes of Health (NIH): NCATS and the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). GARD provides the public with access to current, reliable, and easy-to-understand information about rare or genetic diseases in English or Spanish.

The WWARN Malaria in Pregnancy (MiP) Library is a regularly updated, comprehensive bibliographic database of published and unpublished literature relating to malaria in pregnancy, including a trial registry of planned and ongoing trials.