Company Research : Private Companies

Intellect, a Mergent product, covers millions of publicly-traded and private companies around the globe. Company records are sourced from a combination of the Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet Million Dollar Directories. Other business information includes executive contacts, and a global corporate family tree feature, industry news. Intellect also offers access to Key Business Ratios (KBR) for competitive benchmarking data.

To create a list of companies, select the Advanced Search function and select the Industry option along the top of the search screen. You have the option here of searching either by SIC code or NAICS code – using the various drop down menus to find the appropriate codes. Once you have selected your industry codes, click Add to Criteria > Search. This will provide you a list of companies, which can then be exported to an Excel file.

A database containing information on public and private enterprises worldwide. Private company information typically includes business description, news, competitors list, key people and contacts. Also provides information about the headquarters and branches where applicable. The Build a List function is very useful for creating competitors lists. Take a look at our guide to learn how to create lists of companies.

is a web-based platform with 4.4 million private companies profiled. Limited financial data is available. To create a list of private companies: hover over the Screening tab > select Companies > Within the Company Details box, one can limit Company Type as Private Company. To access Capital IQ, current York students, faculty and staff must create an account using their valid YorkU e-mail. Here is our step-by-step guide on how to create your Capital IQ account. All subsequent access to Capital IQ MUST go through the YUL Capital IQ link

Bloomberg database includes private companies. Use the PSRC, then select GO to display the Private company screener function to access private company lists or an individual company. Limited financial data available.

The Company Dossier search provides information about private companies globally. Private companies can be located by following these steps: 1. Search for specific company: Scroll to the bottom of the page > Click Business > Under Company Dossier, click Find a Company > Search by company name or other criteria. 2. Create a Company List: Scroll to the bottom of the page > Click Business > Under Company Dossier, click Create a Company List > Fill out relevant criteria, including selecting 'All Private' under Company Type.

Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also provides information on private investors, private M&A deals, and venture capital funding rounds. Note: Users will have to create an account and log-in to Privco if they wish to go into an actual company, investor or deal profile, or download or export information.

Our subscription is composed of the following four directories: Ontario Business, Western Business, Ontario Manufacturers and Repertoire Inudstriel Quebec. Scott's business directory database covers key B2B service sectors such as transportation & warehousing, customs brokers, freight forwarders, contractors, law firms, management firms, consulting, architecture, advertising, marketing, technical services in addition to manufacturers & wholesalers.