LibGuides: Company Research : Market Share

Market Share

The following resources are suggestions on where to look for market share information. Note: finding market share for Canadian products and/or companies can be difficult. York University students are encouraged to ask at the reference desk in the Bronfman Business Library.

Online Resources

Passport (formerly GMID)
Produced by Euromonitor, Passport provides information on countries, industries, and consumers. Demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries; historic and forecast consumer lifestyle statistics; analysis of consumer lifetsyles in 71 countries; market size for more than 300 consumer products; 4500 market research reports; profiles and rankings of 3000 leading consumer goods companies.
Marketline Advantage
Includes Industry, Country, and Company sections, market profiles, company profiles, company SWOT analysis, more than 50 country profiles, over 150 industry rankings, and news, comments and analysis.

Print Resources

Market Share Reporter by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5410 M33 Bronfman Reference
ISBN: 9781410318794
Provides some information on Canadian market share. Unless the title of the table specifically states Canada however, assume that the information is for the United States
Business Rankings Annual by Thomson Gale (Created by)
Call Number: HD 2709 B88 Bronfman Reference
ISBN: 0787678392
Business Rankings Annual helps librarians answer reference questions related to rankings information. Working from a bibliographic file we have built up over the years, we have culled thousands of items from periodicals, newspapers, financial services, directories, statistical annuals and other printed material. The top 10 from each of these rankings appears in this volume, grouped under standard subject headings for easy browsing.Readers can quickly locate all rankings in which a given company, person or product appears by consulting the reference's comprehensive index. In addition, a complete listing of sources used to compile Business Rankings Annual is provided in the bibliography.Each edition includes a cumulative index, published separately.

Finding Articles

When looking for information about market share, industries and companies, articles can often be a very useful source of information, e.g. market share information may be available in special issues of trade journals.

Top databases to search for market share information are:

ProQuest Business

Business Source Complete

Recommended keyword searches include: Market share and where possible use the name of the company.

Explore our finding business articles guide below to get links to useful databases you can use to find articles, as well as tips on searching them:

Finding Business Articles