LibGuides: Company Research : Suppliers

Identify Suppliers for Specific Companies

Mergent Supply Chain
Mergent Supply Chain can be accessed via a Supply chain tab on the same interface.
Bloomberg
A real-time financial service that provides current and historical data, news and financial analysis of companies, stocks, bonds and indices. Economic statistics are also available. To identify suppliers for a company use the SPLC command. Available at the Business Library. You can book a time to use this database through Bloomberg Booking online (up to two hours each person per day). Restricted to the York University Community.
Marketline Advantage
To find the supplying companies hover over Browse by Industries and select Ingredient or Sourcing from the industry list. Provides links to company reports, case studies, financial deals and company news. After you open up a company report, you may find information including key employees and biographies, location and subsidiaries, major products and services. SWOT analysis reports may be available for some companies.
Investext via Mergent Online
Investext provides access to analyst reports for publicly-traded companies. The reports are produced by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports include analyses on company and industry financial performance, SWOTs, M&A, trends, challenges, and much more. Investext includes current and historical analyst reports. Quick search tips: (1) Search for a publicly-traded company’s most recent analyst reports using the Company Search field > On report landing page, click Reports tab > click Broker Research reports link; (2) To conduct more advanced searches such as historical reports, initiating coverage reports, or reports from specific investment banks, click on the Investext tab (far right-hand side tab) to go to the advanced search form.

Canadian Suppliers

Print Resources

Canadian Key Business Directory. - Dun & Bradstreet Canada Icon

Call Number: HG 4090 Z5 C3 Bronfman Reference

ISBN: 03150879

Scott's Directories Icon

Call Number: T12.5 C22 Bronfman Reference

Regional directories with company listings sorted alphabetically, geographically and by SIC code

Online Resources

Note: If you are aware of a company's name which is operating as a supplier, you may use additional databases listed on our Company Research Guide for more information on this company. Look under the Finding Companies tab to search for Public Companies or Private Companies.

Below are specific online company directories that may be used to identify Canadian suppliers including wholesalers, manufacturers and distributors. Identify NAICS codes of relevance in order to get more out of your search. Consult our Industry Codes Guide for more information.

Industry-Specific Information

Passport (Formerly GMID)
Provides worldwide data and analysis on ingredients and packaging industries.
To find information on ingredients/packaging, hover Industries at the top and click Ingredients/Packaging under the Supply section.
IBISWorld

Includes comprehensive industry reports on smaller niche industries which are harder to find. IBIS World is particularly good for showing where an industry sits in a supply chain. The About this Industry tab for each industry will have a chart showing supply industries. Select Supply Chain under the Products & Markets tab to identify key selling industries (or suppliers) for the industry you are researching. Consult our Quick Guide which features an example of finding supplier information on the ice cream industry in Canada using IBISWorld.

ProcurementIQ (formerly IBISWorld Procurement): Covers a multitude of indirect purchasing lines for 1,000 business-to-business product and service markets in the United States. These reports will assist York students and researchers by facilitating industry research especially in areas such as purchasing, supply chain management and strategic sourcing. These detailed reports cover price environment, product characteristics, supply chain and vendors (including supplier benchmarking and supply chain risk), elements of purchasing process, and negotiation questions and tactics. Our newly subscribed Canada Spotlight Reports offer focused and highly-actionable information on a variety of products and services in the Canadian market. Use them to get up-to-speed quickly and speak knowledgeably with your stakeholders about a variety of Canadian markets.

Marketline Advantage
Hover over Sectors and select a particular sector from the sector list. Individual industry profile reports covering market data, market segmentation, market outlook, leading companies and five forces analysis if applicable.