LibGuides: Mining Management: Industry Reports

About Industry Reports

Industry reports are useful, as they provide you with an overview of a specific industry, and include sections such as:

a review of the competitive landscape
major industry players
historical and current trends
regulatory issues

Consult the Industry Codes section of this research guide to learn more about using industry codes to search some of the databases listed in this guide.

Related Guides

Industry Information in SNL Metals and Mining

SNL Metals & Mining is a unique database that provides data and research on activity in the global metals and mining industries and is one of the best research databases the library has for this field. Check out this user guide for installing and using the SNL Metals & Mining's Office Add-in. To use the Office Add-in off-campus, make sure you use York's VPN.

First time users

Create a login using an @yorku.ca or @schulich.yorku.ca email address when you're on-campus
Only use Internet Explorer and Chrome browsers.

Accessing Industry Resources

Hover over "Industries" tab
Click on drop-down menu options, such as
- Industry monitors; Industry trends & statistics; Strategic reports; Reserve replacement studies; Corporate exploration strategies; Company exploration budgets; and Commodity profiles

Specific Content in Industries tab

Industry monitors: Provides reports on pipeline activity, significant drill results, project milestones, and other areas
Industry trends & statistics: Use menus to select sub-industries, choose fields for comparison, and can click on any linked data in index for more detail
Strategic reports: Provides reports on areas such as commodity-specific mines and outlooks for specific mining industries
Reserve Replacement Studies: Coverage spans from 2005-present
Corporate Exploration Strategies: Provides worldwide global exporation strategy reports from 1989-2013
Commodity profiles: Use search bar to locate profiles for commodities such as potash, gold, or copper. Profiles include latest news on commodity, project lists, and country reserve rankings.

Other Industry Report Sources

FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research)
This database provides access to country risk and industry reports for over 200 countries. Their industry reports cover 22 high-level industry sectors and include current and archived industry report content. Use the Data Tool to download historical and forecast data. Review our step-by-step FitchConnect guide to learn how to navigate this database. Please note, the library's subscription does not cover all of the content in this database.

Mining & metals specific instructions: Click 'Sectors' in the header > Click Metals or Mining > Scroll down the page and select a country using the 'Metals Country Dashboard' (if metals selected) or the 'Mining Country Dashboard' (if mining selected) > Click 'Reports' tab
IBISWorld (Canada, U.S & China)
Includes industry reports for broad and some niche mining and metal industries in the U.S., Canada, and China, as well as global industry reports

To access: Login > Type in keyword, company name, or NAICS code into search box > Industry reports will be separated by geographic location (U.S., Canada, China, and Global)
Marketline Advantage
Includes industry reports on broad and niche industries, such as metals & mining, aluminum, gold, and precious metals for a wide variety of geographies.

To access: Login > Hover over "Industries" > Click on "Metals & Mining" in the pop-up menu > Use right-hand side facets to refine by type of mining industry, geography, and publication date
Mergent Online
Includes industry reports for mining, non-precious metals, precious metals, and oil & gas for a wide variety of geographies.

To access: Login > Click on the blue "Report Search" tab > Click on "Industry Reports" link (beside Equity Reports) > Check off the industries (ex: Non-Precious Metals, Mining, Precious Metals) and limit by region or date range > Click search and click on the PDF icon to access specific reports
First Research Reports via Mergent Intellect
To access First Research reports scroll down and select the First Research link, then enter your email address on the left side of the interface. Specific profiles include Internet & Mail-Order Retail Industry and Non-store Retail Industry.