LibGuides: Mining Management: Sustainability Reports & Frameworks

About Sustainability Practices & Mining

Mining companies have been criticized for destructive practices that harm both the environment and communities living near mining projects. Using sustainability practices and frameworks is now an important component of managing mining companies and are helping mining companies become more accountable, transparent, and credible in their interactions with communities near mines and the environment. There are many best practices for sustainable mining and many of the frameworks include principles for:

communicating and engaging with communities
developing environmental best practices
ensuring that the health and safety of mining employees and surrounding communities are taken into consideration

Sustainability Reports

S&P Global Metals and Mining (Capital IQ Pro)
First time users create unique login using @yorku.ca or @schulich.yorku.ca email.

An excellent resource for finding company-created sustainability reports and ESG information.

To access the ESG dashboard: Log in and then select More > ESG > ESG Home. Access specific company analyses at More > ESG > ESG Coverage List and then use the filters to locate a company of interest.

To find sustainability reports filed by companies: Log in and then select "Advanced Search" at the top of the browser window (to the right of the search bar). Select the tab labeled "Documents, Transcripts & Events" and then choose "Documents & Filings."

Using the filters on the left, enter a company name or date range, if desired. In the "Document type" filter, select "Institutional Filings" > ESG Documents > Sustainability Report.

Check out this user guide for installing and using the S&P Metals & Mining's Office Add-in. To use the Excel add-in off-campus, follow York's instructions for setting up a VPN.
Sustainalytics
ESG Risk Ratings universe covers around 13,000 public and private companies.

Controversies Research monitors 700,000 news items from more than 60,000 media and NGO sources on a daily basis, in order to identify potential incidents for a universe of ~13,000 issuers

Product Involvement Research includes ~13,000 issuers of equity and fixed-income securities.
Bloomberg
Only available on-campus:Bloomberg Terminals are available for use in the Bronfman Library only. Bloomberg contains environmental, social, and governance analytics. To access these analytics, use the command: ESG More information on the ESG commands can be accessed here.
Bloomberg & Sustainalytics
Bloomberg users at York University can gain access to fifteen Sustainalytics scores through Bloomberg. For more information including Sustainalytics Field Definitions, Accessing Sustainalytics Data on Excel, Analyzing Single Securities, please refer to the following guide document.

Mining Sustainability Frameworks & Best Practices

The Mining Association of Canada's Towards Sustainable Mining Program
This program was established in 2004 and features publications, online training modules, and other resources. Its protocol section is well-developed and focuses on ares such as aboriginal outreach, tailings pond management, and mine closure practices. Companies can gain TSM verification and it publishes letters of assurance from CEOs of participating Canadian companies.
The Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada - e3 Plus Framework
e3 Plus provides mining and exploration companies with a corporate social responsibility framework. The information resources on this website focus on helping mining companies improve their social, environmental, and health and safety programs.
Mining and Sustainability BC (MSBC)
MSBC is a British Columbia specific initiative that focuses on creating a "made-in-B.C." approach to developing sustainable mining practices. The MSBC Working Group is overseen and facilitated by B.C.'s Mines and Mineral Resources Division of the Ministry of Energy and Mines.
International Council on Mining & Metals (ICMM) - Sustainable Development Framework
Members of the ICMM are required to implement the council's Sustainable Development Framework. The framework helps mining companies create transparent and accountable reporting practices. Each member company is assessed annually.
Global Reporting Initiative's Sustainability Reporting Framework
This framework is developed by GRI, a leading organization in the sustainability field. It contains specific guiding supplements for the mining and metals industries. Also, make sure to take a look at GRI's Sustainability Disclosure Database, as it includes sustainability reports from mining companies, as well as grades for the companies' adherence levels.
United Nation's Global Compact
The UN's Global Compact initiative focuses on helping business align their operations around 10 universally accepted principles in the areas of human rights, labour, environment, and anti-corruption. Hover over the "Participants and Stakeholders" section > Click on "Participant Search" > Select a country > Select "Business" > Select mining sector from additional menu that appears.
World Bank Group's International Finance Corporation's Sustainability Framework (2012)
The IFC is a branch of the World Bank and it provides guidance to companies on risk management, sustainable business practices, global environmental and social standards, and global standards on corporate governance. Their Sustainability Framework consists of environmental and social sustainability polices, performance standards for managing environmental risks, and their access to information policy that underscores the IFC's commitment to transparent business practices.
International Institute for Sustainable Development's (IISD) Model Mining Development Agreement
The IISD is currently working with policy makers and lawyers in developing countries to establish a Model Mining Development Agreement. This agreement will help create an improved regulatory environment that encourages and promotes sustainable mining practices in developing countries.